Solid Gold Dry Cat Food

Sun, Apr 12, 2009

Solid Gold

Solid Gold Dry Cat Food

Solid Gold cat food is produced by Solid Gold Health Products For Pets, Inc. Solid Gold Health Products for Pets was first founded in 1974, and is based out of El Cajon, California. There are also many Solid Gold distribution centers in countries such as Finland, Japan, Singapore and Germany. Many of Solid Gold's dry kibble pet food products are produced at the Diamond Pet Foods processing plants. Diamond has facilities in Missouri, California and South Carolina. Though no Solid Gold brand products are listed on the FDA's list of recalled pet foods, Diamond has recalled a Diamond brand type of canned kitten formula in reaction to possibly aflatoxin-contaminated rice gluten. This was combined with 19 other products in 23 states that were manufactured at a Diamond Pet Food facility in South Carolina. With testing, it was discovered that only two types of dog food with certain “best by” dates were potentially hazardous to pets.

Solid Gold Dry Cat Food Review

Solid Gold currently has two different dry cat food formulas available. Both of these formulas are available in a 4lb bag, and a large 15lb bag. All of Solid Gold's pet food products are manufactured without chemical preservatives or saturated fats. Also, Solid Gold claims that none of their products contain wheat, soy or corn.

Solid Gold Dry Cat Food comes in the following recipes:

  1. Solid Gold Indigo Moon All Life Stages Cat Food
  2. - Solid Gold Indigo Moon All Life Stages Cat Food is a recently developed formula by Solid Gold that is designed for cats of all ages. This formula is marketed as being both grain and gluten-free. The first ingredient is Chicken Meal, with three of the first five ingredients being chicken-based. Other ingredients include Potatoes, Fish Meal, Chicory Root (which is said to aid digestion), parsley and pumpkin. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 46% protein and 20% fat.

  3. Solid Gold Katz-n-Flocken Cat Food (lamb)
  4. - Solid Gold Katz-n-Flocken Cat Food formula was recently reformulated by Solid Gold to contain Chicken Meal and Chicory root. Three of the first five ingredients are protein-based (Lamb, Chicken Meal and Fish Meal). Other ingredients include Millet, Barley, Flaxseed, Spearmint and Kelp. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 34% protein and 12% fat.

Solid Gold Dry Cat Food Final Thoughts

General consumer opinion about Solid Gold brand dry cat food products has been very positive. Many pet owners claim improved digestion and increased energy when feeding Solid Gold to their cats. The main criticism for many Solid Gold customers was the relatively high price of both Solid Gold dry cat food formulas.

Solid Gold Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Have you ever bought and fed your cat Solid Gold Cat Food? If so, please take the time and let others know what you thought of Solid Gold Cat Food. Below is a ranking based on the price, ingredients and availability of Solid Gold Cat Food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +10 (from 12 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.2/10 (76 votes cast)
Share
8 Responses to “Solid Gold Dry Cat Food”
  1. Waldo Says:

    Considering that the recommended feeding amount for an adult cat is 1/2-1 cup/day, the price isn’t that bad. I have 2 cats who eat 1/2 each per day and the 4 lb. bag lasts a few weeks. I’d rather pay a bit more for their food and avoid the health issues/vet costs.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  2. Black Sal Says:

    So, I get this young cat (4 months) from the local shelter and he’s a bit thin, so I try and feed him up a bit. I get Iam’s Kitten for dry food and I offer him egg, raw and cooked; chicken gizzards, lightly fried in butter; chicken breast, roast; ground beef, raw and lightly fried; tuna in oil. He turns his nose up at everything except the Iam’s and a little canned sardine. Half a teaspoonful at a time. So I found this website and went shopping. I found the Indigo Moon cat food at a fairly reasonable price and was going to introduce it gradually. Mix them up a bit, I thought. Well, the little wretch leapt onto the counter and started in on the Indigo Moon before I even had a chance to add Iam’s … so that was that. He had some very loose, very smelly, excretia, once, and then his coat got even silkier and he got more energetic (which we didn’t need, really) and he’s starting to eat other things. Like sirloin steak, at body temperature and cut into kitten bite sized pieces. He ate three tiny pieces. Having said all that he’s two pounds heavier and an inche taller in four weeks so something’s working!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  3. Betty Says:

    I give my cats a mixture of Solid Gold Katz-n-Flocken, Blue Buffalo, and Wellness, and and they love it and thrive, even the allergic and frail kitties. I mix the three foods because I fear feeding them 100% of one food, only to have the food recalled (as happened with my young hound dog who subsequently died of kidney failure). This way I somewhat “water down” the chances. After reading this review, I’m concerned about the Diamond processing plant relationship. Is there some way to find where the bag of food was processed? Is this a valid concern? Thank you.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  4. Patricia Says:

    I have a bengal cat that I had to feed raw meat or else he’d get horrible digestive problems. I am now feeding him half Indigo Gold and half raw food and he’s doing great. Will soon try all Indigo Gold because it’s more convenient.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  5. patricia Says:

    It’s March, and he’s fully transitioned to Indigo Gold kibble. No more cutting up raw chicken. Plus, I think it’s a more balanced diet. He is doing great on it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  6. joe Says:

    After switching to Solid Gold cat food the coats of my Norwegian forest cats are shinny, and they do not shed as much as they did in the past.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Kristine Says:

    My cats and I liked this food. However, there was only one pet store that had it and only in very small amounts. I ended up switching to Orijen because I couldn’t find it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Michael Says:

    My cat has been on Solid Gold for a few months now. He eats it, although sometimes he spits out the little kernels. I never had a poo problem with the 10 year old Tabby until I switched to EVO dry cat food, and that seemed to make the stools looser than they had been on Solid Gold.

    Distribution of Solid Gold I am told has become a problem, and my pet store has stopped carrying it as a result. So I now need to look harder to find it. The plan at this stage is to mix it up with EVO and see what the results are. My tabby stopped shedding as much when he was first put onto Solid Gold.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)

Leave a Reply