Nutro Dry Cat Food Recall

Fri, May 22, 2009

Cat Food Recalls

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -- Franklin, Tennessee (May 21, 2009) -- Today, Nutro Products announced a voluntary recall of select varieties of NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Dry Cat Foods and NUTRO® MAX® Cat Dry Foods with “Best If Used By Dates” between May 12, 2010 and August 22, 2010. The cat food is being voluntarily recalled in the United States and ten additional countries. This recall is due to incorrect levels of zinc and potassium in our finished product resulting from a production error by a US-based premix supplier.

Two mineral premixes were affected. One premix contained excessive levels of zinc and under-supplemented potassium. The second premix under-supplemented potassium. Both zinc and potassium are essential nutrients for cats and are added as nutritional supplements to NUTRO® dry cat food .

This issue was identified during an audit of our documentation from the supplier. An extensive review confirmed that only these two premixes were affected. This recall does not affect any NUTRO® dog food products, wet dog or cat foods , or dog and cat treats.

Affected product was distributed to retail customers in all 50 states, as well as to customers in Canada, Mexico, Japan, Korea, Thailand, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, New Zealand, and Israel. We are working with all of our distributors and retail customers, in both the US and internationally, to ensure that the recalled products are not on store shelves. These products should not be sold or distributed further.

Consumers who have purchased affected product should immediately discontinue feeding the product to their cats, and switch to another product with a balanced nutritional profile. While we have received no consumer complaints related to this issue, cat owners should monitor their cat for symptoms, including a reduction in appetite or refusal of food, weight loss, vomiting or diarrhea. If your cat is experiencing health issues or is pregnant, please contact your veterinarian.

Consumers who have purchased product affected by this voluntary recall should return it to their retailer for a full refund or exchange for another NUTRO® dry cat food product. Cat owners who have questions about the recall should call 1-800-833-5330 between the hours 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM CST, or visit www.nutroproducts.com.

U.S. Product Name

Bag Size

UPC

NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Kitten Food 4 lbs 0 79105 20607 5
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Kitten Food 8 lbs. 0 79105 20608 2
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Kitten Food (Bonus Bag) 9.2 lbs. 0 79105 20695 2
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Kitten Food 20 lbs 0 79105 20609 9
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Kitten Food (Sample Bag) 1.5 oz

none

NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Adult 4 lbs 0 79105 20610 5
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Adult 8 lbs. 0 79105 20611 2
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Adult (Bonus Bag) 9.2 lbs 0 79105 20694 5
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Adult 20 lbs 0 79105 20612 9
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Adult (Sample Bag) 1.5 oz

none

NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE®  Adult Oceanfish Flavor 4 lbs 0 79105 20622 8
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Adult Oceanfish Flavor 8 lbs 0 79105 20623 5
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Adult Oceanfish Flavor (Bonus Bag) 9.2 lbs. 0 79105 20698 3
NUTRO® NATURAL CHOICE® COMPLETE CARE® Adult Oceanfish Flavor 20 lbs 0 79105 20624 2
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor 3 lbs 0 79105 10228 5
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor 6 lbs 0 79105 10229 2
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor 16 lbs 0 79105 10230 8
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor (Sample Bag) 1.5 oz

none

NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor 3 lbs 0 79105 10243 8
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor 6 lbs 0 79105 10244 5
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor 16 lbs 0 79105 10245 2
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Roasted Chicken Flavor (Sample Bag) 1.5 oz

none

NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Salmon Flavor 3 lbs 0 79105 10246 9
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Salmon Flavor 6 lbs 0 79105 10247 6
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Adult Salmon Flavor 16 lbs 0 79105 10248 3
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Weight Control 3 lbs 0 79105 10249 0
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Weight Control 6 lbs 0 79105 10250 6
NUTRO® MAX® Cat Indoor Weight Control 16 lbs 0 79105 10251 3

Source: http://www.fda.gov/oc/po/firmrecalls/nutro05_09.html

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 5.9/10 (3 votes cast)
Share
2 Responses to “Nutro Dry Cat Food Recall”
  1. Dannielle Sangollo Says:

    Dear Sir or Madam,

    I can’t tell you how much frustration and anguis that I have been through in the last few months since my two cats have been eating your “Recalled” kitten food. They have had reoccurring diarrhea and vomiting that my Vet can’t understand. She told me that she does not know why they are having this problem and she finds it a mystery that the two cats have the same condition. They have been on and off various medications to try and control it and it has been basically a nightmare. Yesterday I went to buy some more kitten food and they told me that my specific brand has been recalled. What a shock to say the least and then to read that it might cause diarrhea and vomiting!!!!!!! Thats terrible.!!! You don’t know how much money I have spent on Vet bills, tests, crying and frustration, along with anxiety too. This is totally unacceptable. Especially when just recently dogs and cats were dying because of faulty animal food that we rely on and trust to feed our little ones. Well, I say shame on you. If there was a way that I could sue, I would. We depend on a good, safe product and I now no longer trust your company and I will let people know just what I have lived in these past few months. They could have died. Shame on you!

    Dannielle Sangollo

    I should send you all my Vet bills.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 7 votes)
  2. johnypaycut Says:

    Nutro killed my cat… why are these criminals still selling pet food?
    they promised to make good on vet bills for hundreds of pet owners,
    they’v never paid the bills of any!(sued by hundreds of pet owners)
    Menu foods makes “nutro”, menu foods killed thousands of pets,even before
    the wheat gluten fiasco. (the toxic plastic was in the food for years)
    end the injustice, put menu foods out of business!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)

Leave a Reply