Natural Balance Dry Cat Food

Tue, Apr 14, 2009

Natural Balance

Natural Balance Dry Cat Food

Natural Balance cat food is manufactured by the Natural Balance Pet Foods company. Natural Balance Pet Foods was first founded in 1989. It was founded by famous actor Dick Van Patten, and all Natural Balance Pet Food products are manufactured in Pacoima, California. Aside from manufacturing pet food, Natural Balance Pet Food company also produces zoological formulas for animals such as tigers, polar bears and lions.

Natural Balance Dry Cat Food Recalls

In a recent recall, Natural Balance Pet Food company recalled their Venison & Green Pea Dry Cat Food formula, since the Venison formulas tested positive for melamine. The source of this melamine was identified to be from a rice protein concentrate. Since Natural Balance Pet Food company had marketed this formula as grain-free, many customers were furious at the mis-labeling of the product.

Natural Balance Dry Cat Food Reviews

Natural Balance Pet Food currently offers three different types of cat food formulas. Each of these formulas is designed for a different dietary need, and is not currently involved in any recalls. These three dry cat food formulas are available in a 6.6lb bag, and a 15lb bag.

Natural Balance Dry Cat Food comes in the following 3 dry recipes:

  1. Natural Balance Original Ultra Ultra-Premium Dry Cat Food -
  2. - Natural Balance Ultra Premium Cat Food is marketed as only using tocopherols, which are a natural preservative, instead of artificial preservatives. Chicken and Duck ingredients are three of the first five ingredients. Other ingredients include Parsley Flakes, Barley, Potatoes and Lamb Meal. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 34% protein and 18% fat.

  3. Natural Balance L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets Green Pea & Duck Formula for Cats
  4. - Natural Balance Green Pea and Duck Cat Food is designed as an allergy formula. This formula is marketed as being grain-free. The first ingredient is peas, while the second and third ingredients are duck products. Other ingredients include Flaxseed, Taurine, and several vitamin supplements. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 30% protein and 12% fat.

  5. Natural Balance Original Ultra Reduced Calorie Formula for Cats
  6. - Natural Balance Original Ultra Reduced Calorie Cat Food is suitable for all adult cats, though is designed to be lower in fat than other formulas. The first ingredient in this formula is Chicken Meal, with other ingredients including Salmon Meal, Kelp, Carrots, Duck Meal, Lamb Meal and Oatmeal. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 32% protein, and 9% fat.

Natural Balance Dry Cat Food Final Thoughts

Though many customers are satisfied with Natural Balance Pet Food products, the controversy surrounding the recall of products containing rice protein has resulted in some bad press for this company. However, many customers purchase Natural Balance Pet Food because of its relatively affordable price in comparison to some other cat food brands.

Natural Balance Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Have you ever bought and fed your cat Natural Balance Cat Food? If so, please take the time and let others know what you thought of Natural Balance Cat Food. Below is a ranking based on the price, ingredients and availability of Natural Balance Cat Food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +14 (from 22 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.2/10 (113 votes cast)
21 Responses to “Natural Balance Dry Cat Food”
  1. Mariel Says:

    Several years ago (just before all the recalls), I checked out a number of different dog and cat foods. I had been feeding Hills Science Diet for years, only to discover that its’ ingredients appear no better than cheap store brand products. Natural Balance seemed to offer the best balance between good ingredients and good price. I also use Orijen occasionally, and Sheba for treats. Our seven cats and two dogs all seem to be doing very well now.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)
  2. Katie Says:

    When I adopted my second cat, it was discovered that she was suffering from some type of food allergy. After doing some research, I discovered Natural Balance carried a limited ingredients diet. Both of my cats enjoy the wet and dry food and seem to be doing well on it. The prices are very reasonable and I like the fact that Natural Balance has a “buy with confidence” feature so that pet owners can monitor the testing of the food they have purchased. Plus they do not conduct animal testing which a lot of commercial pet foods (Iams, Purina, Nutro) do. I would highly recommend Natural Balance!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  3. Carole Says:

    The two cats we recently adopted were vomiting up Science Diet, so I switched them to Natural Balance Duck and Green Pea. They stopped vomiting, but one of the developed soft stools. Both cats seem to like Natural Balance and their coats look good and their energy levels are fine.

    Any thoughts on why the one cat starting having soft stools after I switched his food?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  4. Helen Says:

    My 5-month-old kitten developed diarrhea and vomiting after I switched her to this food. My other 2 cats who are older were fine. Now they are all on Evo cat food and doing much better. I don’t know if it’s the age thing but the little one did not do well on this food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  5. Jessica Says:

    My cats fur looks gorgeous with Evo, but she gets the runs with the wet food. I was told it is because with kittens (she is 5 mths) too much protien can cause loose stools. If your cat will drink buttermilk, its a natural remedy to hardening stools.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  6. Karla Says:

    Carole~ I have found that switching foods often results in soft stools. That’s why I often slowly introduce a new food by mixing it with the previous food they were eating. I started my cat on Natural Balance after discovering she had a food allergy to what I had been feeding her (Taste of the Wild). Within two weeks the swelling was gone from her lips and gums, and the ulcers around her mouth and chin were healed. She still has lots of energy and her hair is beautiful. I am considering switching her to the Duck and Green Pea Allergy formula as I prefer to feed my cat and dog a grain free diet. However, for now I am very satisfied. I am very particular about what I feed my pets, and have researched alot of brands. I believe this to be a very good product with a decent price.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)
  7. Wade Says:

    We fed George Iam’s for at least 10 yrs of his life (he’s 13 1/2 now) and he seemed to be doing fine. Recently he started losing weight and having drastic changes in his purrsonality and mood. Then one day he started throwing up and he stopped eating and drinking completely. George’s doctor found a mass in his abdomen near his liver and intestines. Unfortunately because George had already lost so much weight (he went from 8 lbs to 6.3) and had become anemic we were told he was not likely to survive the surgical and chemotherapeutic interventions that would be necessary to remove the mass. The doctor said because he had already stopped eating and drinking altogether George probably wouldn’t survive more than a week. We’re being optimistic and holding on to all hopes for a miracle…BUT in the meantime we have switched George’s food to Dick Van Patten’s Natural Balance canned food (so far we’ve tried the Oceanfish formula and the Tuna with Shrimp formula). It’s been about a week since we got him home from that very upsetting visit to the doctor and George has made tremendous improvements! As soon as I opened the first can of this food he started getting excited. He didn’t eat a lot at first but every day he’s been eating just a bit more than the day before. His fur is as smooth as silk and he’s gained a little weight back already. I’m not saying this is a cure for any illness he may still have but he has certainly shown a remarkable improvement in his appearance, energy level and mood, as well as his intake and output. We’ve been adding water to the Natural Balance canned food just to ensure proper hydration and promotion of kidney function since we still can’t convince George to drink. I wish I had been better informed about proper nutrition and physiology of cats because George has been the best friend anyone could ever have. Even though I still believe he was receiving a good quality food I now realize I could have done better by ALWAYS feeding him Natural Balance. Thank you Dick Van Patten and friends for creating a high quality, affordable product and for providing information to people that enables them to make an informed decision about their cat’s health and wellness. I hope George can continue to enjoy the benefits of this product for a long time to come. My family wholeheartedly endorses Dick Van Patten’s Natural Balance foods.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +17 (from 17 votes)
  8. Jeanette Says:

    I started feeding my cats this food when one was licking herself bare. The vet suggested kitty prozac, but I wanted to try the allergy test first. After much research, I used the Venison and Pea formula. It worked, and kitty stopped licking her fur away!

    After a good 5 years on this food (eventually switching to Ultra Premium) my girls have the softest fur you’ll ever feel. Like the review says, I don’t think I ultimately pay more for the food because they eat less but get full faster. In fact, each only eat a 1/2 of a small can each day and about 1/4 cup dry food…which is actually a bit less than the recommended amount. I let them free feed, so if they wanted more they could have it…but they just don’t.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  9. Wade Says:

    I just wanted to update everyone on George’s condition. It’s been 3 months since we received the horrible news that our best friend was seriously ill. At that time, the doctor stated that he probably wouldn’t make it more than another 1 to 2 weeks. George is still with us today, and we are thankful for every moment together. I’m still feeding him Dick Van Patten’s Natural Balance canned foods (turkey & giblets formula is his latest favorite). He has his up’s and down’s, but overall he is doing very well. At first, his weight rebounded to his usual 8 pounds; however, because he has a “bad day” every once in a while, his weight has settled in at around 6 pounds. His fur is still super soft, and his purrsonality is still absolutely George…and he still enjoys his “new” food. I’ve also found AvoDerm chicken formula is a great alternative when the local pet supply store is out of our favorite Natural Balance formulas. And, our other alternates are Blue Buffalo Wilderness chicken or turkey formulas. Our main goal is to provide a high-protein, low-fat diet…and to continue to encourage George to eat without forcing him. Personally, I believe that forcing a cat to eat is just cruel and degrading to their character and quality of life – they’re smart creatures, so let them choose, but never quit offering! I am still tremendously appreciative of Dick Van Patten’s Natural Balance, and the quality and value it provides. I’m also very grateful for the information this website and others provided when I needed a course in Kitty Nutrition 101! Best wishes to cat lovers everywhere!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +16 (from 18 votes)
  10. amber Says:

    Wade,
    I am so happy to hear George is doing well!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
  11. Annakay Says:

    My 18 year old female has had very runny stools for weeks. The vet and I have tried everything and so far nothing helps. This Natural Balance food looks like it might be worth trying. Is there one variety that would be better for her condition?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. zeebop2010 Says:

    Two years ago, we adopted two 8-week old kittens from a shelter and started them out on Science Diet and that didn’t work out. One developed constipation while the other had diarrhea. Then, we ended up getting a Rx form of the food from the vet, which they didn’t like. I did some research, came across Dick Van Patten’s Natural Balance and s-l-o-w-l-y changed their food over and the results were nothing short of miraculous. First off, there were enough varieties of canned food that these two fussy sisters couldn’t get bored. No more bowel problems! Plus, their fur is soft and shiny and their eyes are bright and clear.

    The real test of Natural Balance came 6 months later when we adopted two more kittens. These two brothers were scrawny, had awful fur, gooey eyes and respiratory infections. Plus, they smelled terrible! Yuk. They were 12-weeks old, and the night we brought them home we opened a can of Natural Balance Salmon and they buried their little faces in the bowls. It took a little longer for them to come around (I somehow think both had a rougher start in life than our two previous kittens) but as time passed, they filled out, their fur became soft and silky, their eye problems ended and, best of all, they no longer stunk!

    If you have a food that works for your cats, there’s no need to switch. However, if you’re looking for something better, give Natural Balance a try. We use both the canned and dry food and will continue doing so.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  13. Mary Says:

    I have a 2 year old rag doll that was on Iams cat food for 2 months when I got her at 11 weeks old. She was bloated and having terrible gas. I tried 10 different types of food after that, and she would not eat anything except Go and Natural Balance. I went with Natural Balance because all the pet stores recommended limited ingredients. She was on the Duck and Pea formula. She did not eat anything else and she seemed to be going great. 2 months ago she started to urinate on the sofa, pillows, and my bed over and over. Sometimes she would go in the middle of the night. I had to get up at 4:30 in the morning a few times. It was a nightmare. $200.99 of dry-cleaning later I took her to the vet and was told that she had crystals in her urine. Since she only had this type of food, I believe that it was the cause and so does the vet. When I contacted the company they just said never heard of this before and that their food is tested. They never mentioned what exact they test for. I will never feed my cat this cat food again. Be careful if you don’t want huge vet bills and your sofas/bedding ruined, not to mention the suffering of my cat.

    .

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 5 votes)
  14. LM Says:

    Our little Jaffa Cake, 1 year old, likes Natural Balance and her fur is soft and shiny, but she has very soft smelly stools since we have had her eating this food… Since she seems pretty healthy otherwise, we will switch to an other food. Otherwise, it seemed a good product, with a good quality-price ratio, but not widely available. I bought a bag of Orijen and hopefully it’ll get better!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  15. SA Says:

    My two kitties like Natural Balance, Lick Your Chops, and Nature’s Variety Instinct and are doing great. The Natural Balance Dry is good, too.

    It’s also VERY important to give your pets filtered water (not bottled!) because they can smell chlorine and it turns them off drinking the water. A Culligan Filter Pitcher takes many chemicals out of the water and pets drink more.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  16. AM Says:

    I had the opposite experience of Mary. I had a cat wetting outside the box, & despite many vet visits & tests & treatments there was no improvement. Several people suggested the grain-free duck & pea cat food so I tried it- after 3 days on it she became litterbox reliable!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  17. Beth Says:

    I have a cat with eosinophilic granuloma. I have tried the duck and salmon LID formulas. My cats don’t care for this food that much. Maybe it’s the peas? They preferred the Fromm but still the plaque hasn’t completely cleared up. I’m going to try the Wysong anergan formula next.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. Jennifer Says:

    I have nothing but praise for the ingredients in this cat food and for the good price. However, if 16 out of 16 of my cats sniff it and walk away without even tasting it, price and quality don’t do me or them any good. I was really hoping they would like this. The search continues.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  19. Halanna Says:

    I’m a big fan of natural foods. But my Rufus has diarrhea and it smells terrible! He poops a lot too. Ive wormed him and had a fecal done which came back fine. Time to go back to Blue Buffalo.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. richie Says:

    My cats didn’t like the chicken and green pea dry formula but they do eat the canned; however, only the salmon and ocean fish. They also eat the pouches but only the chicken or sardine and mackerel. The food is high quality; both my cats’ coats are soft and shiny!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  21. frank c. Says:

    My cat was throwing up his dry food quite often, so I went to Petco to get some advice as they seem to be knowledgeable about these things. They suggested trying Natural Balance. I tried the Duck and green pea formula, and Spooky has been doing very well on it. Has only thrown up twice in 2 months after switching. He loves the canned food, but I give it very sparingly to him. It works for us!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply