Meow Mix Dry Cat Food

Fri, Aug 7, 2009

Meow Mix

Meow Mix Dry Cat Food

Meow Mix brand cat food is manufactured in the Meow Mix Facility (a 200,000 square foot warehouse) which is located in Decatur, Alabama. This facility is also responsible for manufacturing the "Alley Cat" brand of cat food products. Meow Mix was originally owned by the Purina company, though was divested in the 2000s for antitrust reasons. Now Meow Mix is owned by Del Monte Foods, which was first founded in 1899. As of current news, there are no Meow Mix brand cat food products on the FDA's pet food recall list.

Meow Mix Dry Cat Food Reviews

Meow Mix is well-known for being composed primarily of corn and corn ingredients. Meow Mix brand cat food is currently available in six different dry cat food formulas, as well as several different canned cat food formulas. Meow Mix brand cat food formulas are available in a small 3lb bag, a 6.3lb bag, and a large 16lb bag. This excludes the kitten formula, which is only available in a small 3lb bag.

Meow Mix Dry Cat Food Formulas:

  1. Meow Mix Original Choice dry cat food formula is suitable for all adult cats. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 31% Protein and 12% Fat.
  2. Meow Mix Seafood Medley dry cat food formula is suitable for all adult cats. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 34% Protein and 12% Fat.
  3. Meow Mix Hairball Control dry cat food formula is designed for long-haired cats, or cats that are more prone to developing hairballs. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 31% Protein and 12% Fat.
  4. Meow Mix Indoor Cat dry cat food formula is designed for indoor cats who require both weight management, and hairball control. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 31% Protein and 12% Fat.
  5. Meow Mix Kitten Li'l Nibbles dry cat food formula is designed for kittens up to one year of age, though can also be fed to pregnant or nursing cats. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 36% Protein and 15% Fat.
  6. Meow Mix Wholesome Goodness – Chicken, Tuna and Vegetable Medley dry cat food formula is suitable for all adult cats. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 32% Protein and 12% Fat.

Meow Mix Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Consumer reviews of Meow Mix brand cat food formulas are generally mixed. The fact that corn-based ingredients are always listed among the top five ingredients does not signify optimal nutrition for many cat owners. Since corn is difficult to digest, this could explain some customer complaints of their cats having gastrointestinal problems when being fed Meow Mix brand cat food. Artificial colors are also used in Meow Mix brand cat food, such as Red 40. This fact generally discourages cat owners from purchasing Meow Mix, in order to avoid feeding their cat food with chemical coloring. Cats seem to like the taste of Meow Mix brand cat food formulas, though this could be a result of the inclusion of artificial flavoring. Some sources state that Meow Mix cat food formulas contain 75% corn ingredients, though this is not confirmed.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: -4 (from 14 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 6.3/10 (76 votes cast)
32 Responses to “Meow Mix Dry Cat Food”
  1. lisa Says:

    My cat has been getting sick after eating the dry food. i wont buy anymore.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 7 votes)
  2. dianna Says:

    My cat is really sick after eating meow mix

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  3. Becky Larsen Says:

    I have several cats getting sick in the last 2 months eating Meow Mix. No weight loss but seeing sickness which has not occured before. Anybody know if the formula has changed?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  4. marj Says:

    This cat food is the only thing i can think of that might have killed my cat… he was fine until oneday we opened a new bag of meow mix food. after that he wouldn’t stop throwing up and we had to put him to sleep that night… i don’t know if it was the cat food but he was fine the night before…??? any other ideas???

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 9 votes)
  5. Lucy Snow Says:

    Marj–I’m so sorry to hear about your cat. We had the same thing happen to our cat. He was on Science Diet Duck/Green Pea and was doing fine. When he started vomiting that up his vet recommended we try the Venison/Green Pea. He was vomiting that up almost continuously and a week later we had to put him to sleep. It turns out he had lymphoma and probably had it for a while. It had rapidly moved to his lungs and there was no hope.

    Your cat may have been sick for a while and because cats hide their illnesses so well, you didn’t have any idea. Your cat’s death may have nothing to do with feeding him Meow Mix.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 10 votes)
  6. Jillian Richards Says:

    Thank you all for your postings i was giving my new kitten meow mix but will now stop, all may have save a cats life!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 8 votes)
  7. Chris Says:

    I just wanted to say that I wouldn’t be here now if my cat wasn’t throwing up this awful mix they call meow mix. It also seems a bit funny that the second I type in my cat is puking into google i am immediately directed to why meow mix is a awful choice for cat food. Its sad to think that they put cancer causing chemicals like sodium nitrate into our own meat, just to keep it “looking fresh.” Cant imagine that cats are any better off in the food department either. What a world we live in.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  8. Toya Says:

    One of my cats started puking two days ago, and now my other cat is puking. They both eat Meow Mix dry food. I will never buy this awful cat food again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  9. melissa Says:

    I ran out of the IAMS cat food I normally feed our cat. The only store closest to us was Walgreens. So, I got some Meow Mix-indoor formula. He immediatly got sick. I now feel terrible that I just didn’t go the extra 15 miles to the store to get IAMS. Our cat has NEVER been sick before. Thank you so much for this post..and here is what I did about it….

    email sent to Del Monte Foods (manufactures Meow Mix)http://www.delmonte.com/contactus/contact.aspx. Sent the email listed below:

    Meow MIx-Indoor formula made my cat very sick.
    I ran out of the IAMS cat food I normally feed our cat. The only store closest to us was Walgreens. So, I got some Meow Mix-indoor formula. He immediatly got sick. I now feel terrible that I just didn’t go the extra 15 miles to the store to get IAMS. Our cat has NEVER been sick before. Just by looking up on the internet, I found several blogs regarding Meow Mix products that could potentially kill an innocent cat. How long has Del Monte Foods been manufacturing a product where you have been made aware it is unsafe? I want to know what actions are being taken by Del Monte Foods to rectify the issue? I would also like an issue resolution timeline. I will not purchase any Del Monte food brands until this issue is resolved. Thank you in advance for your cooperation. Respectfully, Melissa

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  10. Graham's Mom Says:

    Meow Mix is awful food. I had been feeding it to Graham for 4 years and he loved it. Now he has diabetes, which the vet thinks is largely to do with all the grain that they put in it. Swichted him to Orijens, which is 75% protein and no grain and he is doing so much better. I wish I had know I was poisoning my cat before it was too late- don’t feed your cats Meow Mix!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  11. Sherry Says:

    I have a normal, healthy 6 yr old cat who started vomiting. I did a process of elimination of 3 differnt foods I was “blending” only because I had some I misplaced and found, purchased because I forgot had some, etc. When we first aquired the cat I fed him Meow Mix and he seemed fine. Then went to IAMS for fur ball control, the other blended was Whiska’s. After reading these blogs, I am stopping and tossing out the Meow Mix asap. I’ll post later with results for those interested in knowing if stopping Meow Mix was the problem.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  12. Head Desk Says:

    Seriously? If Meow Mix were as bad as some of you are claiming the brand would have been discontinued a long, long time ago. For people who claim that “corn” is a zillion percent of the ingredients, read the label! It’s about 30% protein and 12% fat, that’s at least 42% that is not corn. Now if your cat has a corn allergy then any cat food with corn in it will make it sick.

    Over the years we’ve had many cats and fed them all Meow Mix because a) they all liked it and b) they were all generally healthy while eating it. Of course cats do get sick but if you cat is fine and suddenly dies one day it’s not the cat food! If you have doubts ask your vet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 19 votes)
  13. Chad Says:

    I work long hours and went to walgreens to purchas Meow Mix dry cat food because it was convenient. My cat ate a bag and nothing happened so I continued to buy more. He started throwing up after I started the second bag. I took him to the vet and he prescribed him medications to stop the vomiting, a medication to absorb toxins, and an antibiotic. The only thing that I can think of that changed and could have cause him to get so sick was the change to Meow Mix cat food. So I googled “meow mix vomiting” and read all of your comments. I’m going to change his food right now. (He continues to vomit even with all the medications, and I have taken him to my dads house to get him away from anything that may have been in my apartment. He used to live at my dad’s house and was fine so once again the only thing I have left to think could be causing this is the Meow Mix dry food) Thank you all for posting your similar stories, it really helped me out.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  14. CowboyDinosaur Says:

    While Meow Mix has some nasty ingredients, your cat is probably throwing up because you switched the food on them.

    My vet told me that new food should be introduced slowly and into their regular feeding routine or they can get extremely sick. Cats have sensitive stomachs and a random shock of new ingredients (especially all the byproducts in Meow Mix) will cause them to vomit it up until they build up a tolerance.

    I mean how would you feel if you were eating gourmet food every day and then suddenly you had to eat a Mcdonalds burger? Pretty cruddy.

    But if you ate Mcdonalds burgers all the time (like some do), then you don’t notice it! (Similarity, Mcdonalds burgers are as unhealthy to humans as Meow Mix is to cats 😛 )

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 6 votes)
  15. Melissa Says:

    I have two cats. Both are indoor cats only. They were very healthy until I started feeding them Meow Mix indoor formula. I tried the hairball control as well as the original formula and after a few weeks they both developed diarrhea that was very severe, and one started vomiting regularly. I recently switched to Cat Chow Indoor Formula and within a week the diarrhea and vomiting has stopped completely. I am not saying this cat food is bad but if you’re feeding it to your cats they need to be closely monitored for problems.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  16. ashley Says:

    I have fed both of my cats Meow Mix and I never thought anything of their vomiting. They both vomited at least once or twice a week. My first cat had problems with vomiting, urinary tract infections, and finally died of cancer. My other cat vomited a lot also and I just thought that it was normal for cats to vomit now and then. My cat that I have now is now have urinary problems with blood in her pee. That many things wrong with two cats just isn’t normal. Meow Mix is horrible!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  17. Dr.Massy Says:

    It is true I have myself pulled all products that are made by Meow Mix and have discoursed any other issues with this cause with the exception of there products I have ran many in lab tests and have found that 81.3% of ailments found to have been a direct result in of ingesting meow mix cat foods and treats ’28 felines to date 2/10/11 have died as a result. A Clinical review has been sent to the FDA along with all stores in the US and Cannda to issue a Complete Recall of all of there products until a Fedral review can take place. My complete findings will be avaliable for the public at the FDA.gov web page.

    -Dr. RJ. Massy

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 10 votes)
  18. linda taylor Says:

    I was feeding my three cats meow mix dry and wet foods for seven years. They liked the taste. One cat started losing weight when she was around 3 1/2 years old. I’ve spent so much on vets. Another vomit often. The third had dirty bottom all the time. I recently changed their dry to Petsmart’s Authority and Trader Joe’s wet food. The change in my cats have been amazing. The thin cat has went from 7 lbs to 10 lbs in the last two months. The one that was vomiting has stopped, and her fur is already looking better. Her flaky dry skin has cleared up. My huge cat that was 26 lbs has dropped to 21 lbs. and now has a clean bottom. Meow mix cost me so much in vet bills. I hope it’s not too late for my cats to completely recover.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  19. Adam Says:

    I’ve had two indoor cats for about 6 years, and they both ate meow mix their entire life. One of hem died on Tuesday, and the other one has thrown up twice today, and I’m worried that she might have some problems too. Have they changed their formula recently?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. julie martin Says:

    I am a cat rescuer who feeds a lot of out door feral cats, as well as fostered indoor kitties. The cost of feeding all of these cats is staggering so when I got a great deal on 25 bags of Meow Mix I bought them all! For 6 months, 7 indoor cats ate this food. At the end of this time, two of the cats were noticeably thin! I was desperate for advice on what was wrong so I took them to the vet. They were worm-free, with no obvious cause of their weight loss, but they kept losing weight. Fortunately, I ran out of Meow Mix and switched to to “One”. The recovery was fast, I felt so bad that I had almost killed two of my cats with this horrible food just because it was cheaper (believe me – the vet bills weren’t.) If the first ingredient of your pet food is not animal protein, instead of corn, etc: Do not buy it! These are cats, not cows!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  21. Mel Says:

    I have a 6 year old male cat, and he eats nothing but Meow Mix products: Meow Mix moist food in the morning, Meow Mix Indoor Cat Formula dry food out all day and crunchy Meow Mix treats. He is extremely healthy, big and muscular, but not over weight and has a beautiful full coat. The only time he has ever thrown up was when I would buy him other brand treats; if I stick to the Meow Mix crunchy treats then he never throws up. It has been my experience that most corporations have a corporate culture that it pervasive across all their companies. Meow Mix is owned by Del Monte, I have always been very pleased with all Del Monte products I have used. I’d like to think that the same goes for Del Monte’s pet food division, Meow Mix. I have no scientific evidence to back up any of my claims, but I do have a happy, healthy cat, who has only been to the vet to have shots, and never for any sickness. Last, but not least, my cat loves his Meow Mix food, and I’ve never have a problem getting him to eat.

    Hope this is of some help to others.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  22. Susan Wells Says:

    I had a big healthy cat only 7 years old and indoor kitty. I bought Meow Mix for the first time last week because I was broke. My kitty got really ill 2 days ago. He vomited and stopped eating and drinking. Today he died in my arms. I don’t care what anyone says to the contrary I blame this food. I blame myself for buying it. I am devastated.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. Jo Says:

    My two cats love the meow mix, both flavors in the new soft centers, plus they love the original. One cat will only eat there wet cups of food; the other loves fancy feast cans. I’ve had no problems, thank God.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  24. Marie Says:

    My cat had been very healthy while she was eating Purina Naturals, I switched to Meow Mix and a couple of weeks later she was vomiting. I immediately took her food away and went and bought the Purina again. Needless to say, she hasn’t been sick since. Meow mix is very un-natural food, it’s like if you were to be eating hot dogs every day for every meal, so many bad fillers. Why subject a cat to ingredients that you wouldn’t eat?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  25. Marie Says:

    Well I won’t buy anymore. Every time I do my cats get diarrhea . and vomit all over the place. Had the same problem a year ago with my cats that I had at the time. So it’s not the same cat it’s all of them. So it’s the food and not the cat. My senior cat would throw up what looked like blood and clear liquid. It is actually the dye in the color of the food. The same thing is happening with a different cat recently.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  26. E Saxton Says:

    Meow Mix Tender favorites made both my cats foam at the mouth and vomi! It was terrible! It must have some caustic chemicals in it. I’ve since read many of the same comments on several pet food review sites!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  27. Allan Says:

    Out of all cat food I have ever come across,Meow Mix is my cat’s favorite especially the bag that comes in blue.I think its a seafood mix. For two years been feeding my cat Meow Mix. No vomiting there. None.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  28. Samantha Says:

    I have been feeding my cat Meow Mix from the kitten stage up to the original meow mix NEVER have I had a problem it’s the only food my picky cat will even touch. I don’t see why you guys have had suck a bad problem.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  29. dima Says:

    I have feed my cat meow mix ever since she was a kitten and she loved it never got sick or anything but 2 days after her 2nd birthday she all of the sudden got really sick we didn’t know what was going on we took her to the vet and found out she had congestive kidney failure and the vet even said she has never in her live seen a case like this where a 2 year old cat had kidney failure her levels of toxins were so high they were off the charts and my cat was very healthy so the only thing that could’ve caused it was the food she was eating so I do not recommend this to anyone and we ended having to put the cat to sleep that same day

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  30. L Paren Says:

    I fed my cat meow mix for years. He’s 13 and he got big, fur was thick and getting lighter, he began wheezing and snoring when he slept. Vomited at least 3x per week. We attributed all this to aging and hairballs.
    We hated when he pooped because it smelled awful and he was getting too lazy to cover it. I noticed a lump had formed on the side of his chest. Well, I finally decided to try different food because his poop smelled so bad it was like toxic. I though if the food makes his poop smell this bad, something must be wrong. Switched to Purina One.

    Here it is a month later–he has lost weight, fur is rich and dark, no vomiting, the lump on his chest has shrunk to practically nothing and he no longer wheezes or snores. He looks ten years younger and his poop is no longer toxic. I seriously believe that I was poisoning my cat with meow mix. I am so glad that I got the good sense to change his food. I’m kind of blown away. I think my cat might have died way before his time if I had kept him on meow mix.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  31. Brieanna Says:

    I have always fed my cat Meow Mix since he was a kitten (he is now about a year and a half) and have never had any problems until now. We just bought a new bag of Meow Mix Seafood Medley and a day later my poor Meow Mix (that’s his name) has had severe diarrhea for two days now and now he is vomiting all over the place and very violently too I might add. After doing some research and reading everyone’s comments I am almost positive it is the food. My cat has never been sick before, he is a big, healthy cat. I feel terrible for him and needless to say I will NEVER buy this brand again. I have also filed a complaint with DelMonte Foods who makes Meow Mix brand cat food and if I have to take him to the vet over it, I will be doing more than just filing a complaint!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  32. Robert Mateer Says:

    My beautiful and much loved cat, Spooky died yesterday 16-Sep-13 one month after I began mixing Meow Dry cat food with her regular Purina One Dry food which she had been eating for the past 5 years with no problems what so ever.

    I realized too late that the yellowish vomit she was throwing up was no longer the hair balls that she some times got and the weakness she was showing getting up from a laying position and the unsteady walk began shortly after her starting to eat Meow Dry Hard Food. The Meow Dry Hard Food was the only change in her routine and I fully believe that the Meow Food caused the death of Spooky.

    In my personal opinion, this food is a poison that needs to be removed from the market place before more perfectly healthy and beloved cats die from eating it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply