Iams Dry Cat Food

Sat, Jun 27, 2009

Iams

Iams Dry Cat Food

Iams brand cat food is manufactured by Procter & Gamble. The Iams company was first founded by Paul Iams, in the 1940's. After nearly becoming bankrupt during the 1973 Arab oil embargo, Paul Iams sold the company to Clay Mathile who became the sole owner in 1982. Procter & Gamble acquired the Iams brand of pet food in September of 1999. Iams was involved in the recent pet food recalls, though only their wet food “Iams Select Bites” and “Iams Cat Slices and Flakes” formulas were affected. These products where suspected to contain contaminated ingredients.

Iams Dry Cat Food Reviews

Iams currently has seventeen different specific formulas of dry cat food. This includes formulas for all life stages, as well as specialized formulas designed for cats with specific nutritional needs. Iams claims to use quality ingredients in all of their formulas, and even has a specialized “Premium Protection” formula that is marketed as having “Iams most nutritionally advanced formula ever”.

Most of Iams dry cat food formulas are available in a 4lb and 8lb size, with several of the formulas also being available in a 20lb size. Other sizes include a 2lb, 3.5lb, a 7lb and a 16.5lb bag size, depending on the specific formula. In general, formulas that are more specialized for specific nutritional needs are not available in larger bag sizes. As far as price, Iams brand dry cat food is considered to be moderately expensive, with an 8lb bag sometimes costing up to $18.99, and a 4lb bag costing up to 11.99, without tax.

Iams Dry Cat Food Formulas:

  1. Iams ProActive Health Hairball Care Cat Food – Designed for cats who are prone to getting hairballs, usually long-haired breeds. Guaranteed Analysis: 32% protein, 21% fat.
  2. Iams ProActive Health Original with Tuna Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  3. Iams ProActive Health Original with Chicken Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  4. Iams ProActive Health Original with Lamb and Rice Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  5. Iams ProActive Health Original with Ocean Fish and Rice Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  6. Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat with Chicken Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 35% protein, 17% fat.
  7. Iams ProActive Health Multi-Cat with Chicken and Salmon Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 35% protein, 17% fat.
  8. Iams ProActive Health Active Maturity Cat Food – Designed for cats seven years of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 32% protein, 14% fat.
  9. Iams ProActive Health Active Maturity Hairball Care Cat Food – Designed for cats seven years of age or older, who are also prone to getting hairballs. Guaranteed Analysis: 32% protein, 14% fat.
  10. Iams ProActive Health Weight Control Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older, who are overweight or prone to becoming overweight. Guaranteed Analysis: 28% protein, 11% fat.
  11. Iams ProActive Health Indoor Weight and Hairball Care Cat Food – Designed for indoor cats one year of age or older, who need both weight management and hairball care. Guaranteed Analysis: 28% protein, 11% fat.
  12. Iams ProActive Health Kitten Cat Food – Designed for cats under one year of age, as well as lactating/pregnant adult cats. Guaranteed Analysis: 34% protein, 22% fat.
  13. Iams Digestive Care Cat Food – Designed for cats one year of age or older, who have special digestive needs. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  14. Iams Healthy Naturals with Atlantic Salmom Cat Food – Designed for active adult cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  15. Iams Healthy Naturals with Natural Chicken Cat Food – Designed for active adult cats one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 33% protein, 15% fat.
  16. Iams Healthy Naturals Weight Control Cat Food – Designed for cats who need a natural diet for weight management, one year of age or older. Guaranteed Analysis: 28% protein, 11% fat.
  17. Iams Premium Protection Cat Food– Marketed as a specialized formula to provide complete nutrition for cats one year of age or older. The first five ingredients are Chicken, Chicken Meal, Corn meal, Corn Grits and Chicken Fat. Guaranteed Analysis: 32% protein, 21% fat.

Iams Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

In general, Iams brand cat food has been subject to mixed reviews by consumers. While some cat owners report feeding Iams brand dry cat food to their pets without any problems, some cat owners have health problems develop in their cat. This includes weight gain, allergic reaction, poor digestion, and general lethargy. However, it seems a general consensus that most cats like the smell, taste and texture of Iams brand dry cat food. Some veterinarians recommend against feeding your cat Iams brand cat food, since it may at least cause a significant weight gain in your cat. By looking at the ingredients label of many of Iams dry cat food formulas, corn or corn products are commonly seen high in the first five ingredients, which does not represent an ideal cat food formula for most consumers.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: -10 (from 18 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 5.3/10 (74 votes cast)
Iams Dry Cat Food, 1.5 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Share
24 Responses to “Iams Dry Cat Food”
  1. Hanson Says:

    Our cats regurgitate their IAMS dry cat food. It seems to upset their tummies. So we have switched to Avo Ancestral dry food which they love, which has ingredients we prefer but which costs a bit more and isn’t available at Costco, as IAMS is. However, our cats love the Ancestral and it doesn’t upset their digestion. We had a cat grow overweight on IAMS, but not on Ancestral!! To us it is worth the price differential.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  2. Lisa Says:

    After 7 years on Iams dry kitten, then cat food, my cat developed an allergy I believe. She vomited very often after eating. She was a bit overweight at probably 16 lbs, and over a month dropped at least 4 lbs. She lost so much muscle mass along her spine, it was so bony. I have started her on fancy feast salmon feast, & ocean whitefish feast and she has not vomited in nearly a week. She has energy again and her personality is coming back. It is such a relief after the mystery of her vomiting & weight loss.

    I never would have guessed Iams could be bad for her, but it seems the case — the corn product and inferior quality ingredients. I feel fooled by the package labeling & marketing that Iams is top notch.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  3. Flea87 Says:

    Fancy feast is, like Iams, also like the cat equivalent of McDonald’s. Might want to go more natural…? Feeling fooled is not a nice feeling, I know from personal experience. Sorry :( Hope your cat’s been feeling better.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  4. Sandra L Says:

    In my honest opinion as a groomer. I see all kinds of skin and fur problems. All come from the food you feed. If a cat or dog is in the wild hunting their own food they are not going to find dry kibble. This food was manufactured and marketed by some very smart people. Dogs and cats should not even have dry food as they are not genetically conditioned for it. We are forcing them to eat it.

    Cats and dogs love chicken, tuna, salmon, sardines, liver, tukey. Wet protein is what they all need. WET PROTEIN. NOT DRY. It would be the same if all we ate was dry cereal and nothing else. What would happen. We would eventually become unhealthy with all kinds of problems.

    All I am trying to say is forget the dry food and stick with just canned. If you give your cat a canned food that they don’t like, open a can of tuna and pour some of the juice over their food and watch what happens.
    Never feed your cat people tuna as a main feed as they need the cat vitamins in their food especially taurine.

    Forget they dry!!!!!!!!! It’s a waste of money. A can of good food in the morning and a can at night and you are done and they are happy and will not gain weight.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.6/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 24 votes)
  5. ijay Says:

    IAMS dry has been very good to my cats, one is a bit overweight, but that is due to the fact that she likes to eat all the food before the other cat gets a chance at it.

    Wet food stinks up the house, makes a mess and caused dental problems in one of the cats. Since switching him to dry with an occasional can of food as a treat has improved his teeth a lot. A friend was caring for him for a year due to military deployment, she fed him only wet food, when I got the cat back he was missing several teeth and had poor coat condition.

    Wet food only has a higher fluid content than dry, my cats drink enough water because I don’t give them unfiltered tap water.

    I have experimented with foods available at normal groceries, IAMS has been my best option.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 13 votes)
  6. Ali L Says:

    My 2 cats have been eating IAMS digestive care for a few months now, after I switched them from IAMS Healthy Naturals, and the both of them have been losing teeth only since they have eaten the Digestive Care. I am setting out to Walmart today to get them either their old food or a different one completely. They are both totally healthy other than that they are losing teeth and they are only 3 & 4 years old. My vet couldn’t tell me anything about why they are losing their teeth at such a young age. So if I were you, I would stay away from IAMS Digestive Care completely. Hope this helps.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  7. Jill Says:

    My cat loves food- any food! I purchased 2 bags of Iams Healthy Naturals Weight Control at the supermarket on clearance at 1/2 price the other day. I have always sworn by Iams and never had a problem with any type or variety. But when I fed him the Healthy Naturals he vomited it right up. The next 2 times I fed him the same stuff- same thing happened. The bags were not expired and I don’t know why they were marked down, but I’m going to return both bags to the store for a refund. My cat cannot handle whatever is in that food! I fed him his usual (Good Life) this morning and he was just fine.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  8. Kristen Says:

    All three of my cats have recently become ill since eating IAMS Healthy Naturals Atlantic Salmon, nothing new has been introduced to house recently (e.g. cleaners). All were healthy until this recent bag of IAMS, now not a single one can hold anything down. Going to vet Friday for bloodwork to be safe and am switching food in meantme.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  9. Jenny Says:

    My family’s cat ate Iam’s for years. He ended up getting diabetes and dying from it. When I got my own cat I fed him Iams (I thought it was quality cat food), but he kept getting fatter and fatter even though I gave him a very limited amount. I ended up switching to Wellness Core, and even though I fed him the same amount, he now is sleek and healthy looking. Iams has a lot of corn in it, and I don’t think that is good for cats. Iams may have had a role in the death of my family’s cat. My cats loved to eat Iams, but I think it was bad for their health. I keep hearing similar stories about cat owners having diabetic cats. Try switching your cat to a grain-free food if you can.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  10. Adam Jackson Says:

    We had a large black cat for 15 years ,( Boots ) all he ate was Iam’s , He ended up getting a tumor on his intestine and had to put down . They called it cancer. His surviving friend ( gizzy ) is now 15 and ate along side Boots , the first cat , all he eats is Iam’s , now he has problems with his intestine . He poops blood occasionally. I took him to the vets the first time I noticed blood in his stool. The vet said he had a doughy bowl. It was a little inflamed. the vet suggested we switch food and put him on a dietary food from the vet . He seem s better now I will mot ever use Iam’s again. I know I can’t prove that Iam’s did it be to be safe , we stopped using it !

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  11. Marcia Says:

    I have 4 inside cats. I also fed them Iams but not anymore! I assumed that Iams was a healthy and nutritious food for them, but boy was I ever wrong. My daughter’s cat got CRF and so I started doing some heavy-duty research on cat food and CRF. Iams has too much corn in it!! Corn and wheat are highly allergenic to our animals. One of my cats had hairloss on the inside of her back legs, which the vet said was a bacterial infection. I switched my cats to “Before Grain” cat food and lo and behold the hair loss has since vanished. No bacterial infection but I suspect a corn allergy! Please, please do NOT feed your cats products that contain corn, wheat or soy!! And that includes Science Diet! My cats have been eating Before Grain for about 6 weeks and they look wonderful. Thanks Merrick! Oh, and they DO need canned food. Read on CRF and you will be convinced.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +7 (from 7 votes)
  12. elizabeth Says:

    I recently learned about the connection of canned food linings and the epedemic of hyperthyroidism in cats. It seems that what we thought to be a healthier choice for our pets can cause hyperthyroidism in older cats. I’ve had three cats suffer from this. They did eat canned foods often.

    I also recently found out that IAMS now uses corn and corn meal as one of the top ingredients in their formulas. This did not used to be so as I bought the food exclusively for a decade or more without rereading the ingredients each time.

    Cats are not meant to eat corn as a majority of their diets!! Wake up IAMS folks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  13. Lori Says:

    I have recently had two cats that were both on Purina Cat Chow for 4-5 years, for whatever STUPID reason, we decided to switch them to IAM’s. We had heard so much good about IAM’s and thought that we should switch them..BOTH cats ended up developing diabetes and dying. NEVER EVER EVER feed your cats IAMS! Of course I called IAM’s and they denied any connection…but that cannot be a coincidence!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  14. Lori Says:

    I haved used Iams for over 10 years with my two Persian cats. I lost one from Diabetes linked to his diet, stricly of Iams dry food since he was born, as recommended by his breeder. Now my other cat has been vomitting and regurgitating his food and I was just told that Iams used to be tops until Proctor Gamble purchased it. I do not know what type of food to change to but if you love your cats like family….please do not feed them Iams. A very costly and sad learning experience!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  15. Nicole NY Says:

    I fed my 2 cats Iams cat food back in the 90′s because it was healthier and only pet stores could sell them. Then I noticed they were in the supermarkets and asked a pet store owner why that happened. I was told that Proctor and Gamble bought out Iams and now they could distribute for less. I had heard big companies raking over smaller ones, which often would result in lower quality products. I remember feeling uneasy about it and was concerned that this may have an effect on Iams cat food. I always thought my cats would live for at least 16-18 years because I fed them Iams. I even switched to Iams Healthy Naturals, read all the ingredients and guaranteed analysis info, not really knowing what I know now.

    My first cat was overweight somewhat because I didn’t switch her off from the regular to the less active formula years prior. Anyway, about 5 years ago she had a big belly and I noticed a cyst on her side which turned out to be cancer. At first I thought it was the water (I live on Long Island) and while I still think it played a role, I now and pretty sure that it was the food. The vet said she might be diabetic because she was overweight, thanks to the Iams corn etc, but it was a huge mass in her abdomen. First sign, when your cat jumps to prevent from being picked up. It obviously hurt her belly. They found “strange” abdominal fluid that was cancerous, and she passed away 2 months later.

    My second cat was 2 years younger than my first, and she was always smaller and the perfect weight. After switching to filtered water and Iams Healthy Naturals she cat seemed fine. Over about 2 years, I noticed she would throw up hairballs every so often. Sometimes nothing came out, but eventually it came up. At times it was just clear or cloudy fluids, and sometimes complete meals. I thought it was because she hadn’t chewed her food, since I noticed that the food pellets were intact. I called the vet and they said it seems normal if it only happened on occasion and that it was due to hairballs. I should have brought her to the vet right then. I remember going to pick her up and she would jump over my hands to avoid being picked up. She was always a tease, but I was worried if the same thing was happening as it did with my first cat. She was always small and her belly was the same. So I relaxed. I am very upset at myself and heartbroken because 2 months ago she stopped eating, and passed away less than a week later. She was hospitalized for severe kidney failure which is the renal failure (CRF) people are talking about in these posts. So I suspected, but now I am certain it was her food. The vet also found fluid in her abdomen, and gave me the tube to have tested because she was dying very soon either way. I still have the tube and wonder if I should have it tested for cancer to see if its the same form that my first cat had. My first cat had problems in other areas so they don’t know for sure if was the cancer was the primary cause of her problems for if something else was the culprit. The first cat would occasionally poop outside the litter box and/or in other areas, which was her way of telling me something is wrong. There was blood in some, but the vet said that it could be a blood vessel that had broken, but if it continued then to bring her in.

    Well, now I’m on my way to find better healthier cat food before store closes.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  16. CowboyDinosaur Says:

    Sandra L -

    That is horrible advice to give to people.

    Cats and dogs have long since been domesticated, so adhering them to a ‘What would they eat in the wild’ diet is a bad health choice. While feeding them whole, nutritious ingredients is a great way to keep your cat healthy, taking dry food out of the picture is extremely dangerous for their dental hygiene.

    The dry food cats eat serves a dual purpose, as a cleaner for their teeth. It scrapes off the plaque and the effort it takes to chew the kibble encourages a healthy, powerful jaw.

    Relatively, if a human was put on a diet of only mashed potatoes and gravy, they would start having severe tooth decay.

    Most cats HATE having their mouth touched and while it is a good idea to brush your cats teeth, the reality is that many will not sit still for the procedure. It is less stressful on the cat to give them kibble regularly.

    Also, wet cat food is extremely fattening. There is literally no wet cat food without the preservative ‘gravy/sauce’ and that stuff is packed with byproducts and bad cholesterol.

    If you really want to feed your cat wet cat food, then it’s better to make it yourself with lightly cooked and sterilized fish and chicken.

    In retrospect, many dry foods contain more nutrition and health benefits than most wet food brands can offer.

    Keep in mind that many animals in the wild die very early deaths because of dental disease. Protect your cat with at least a small serving of dry kibble with their wet food (if you choose to give them wet food).

    Also, wet food can sometimes be bulky and fatty. It will clog up your cat’s digestive tract and make it hard for them to digest the hair they lick off themselves which guess what? Equals hairballs. You don’t have this danger with GOOD QUALITY dry food.

    That’s my two cents. :P

    In relation to Iams, I fed my cats Iams for years when I was living with my mother, and they never really showed any negative health problems except for getting to be fairly large cats (They are both 12-13lbs each). I don’t recommend it but it’s not horrible if you need it as a temporary solution.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.3/5 (7 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 10 votes)
  17. Jennifer Says:

    To the groomer who commented about cats “not able to digest dry and all they need is wet protien”? Do you work for a vet? Have you done research? Do you have anything to back up what you are saying? I think that you should do some before giving advice. I work for a vet, and I also do oral care on felines. I have 10 cats of my own (a varity of breeds).Wet food is good for cats who are so dehydrated that they need extra water from food, kittens need high fat wet food for the first year of devolopment. Adult cats can have a wet treat once a month or so. However an ongoing wet food diet does damage to the teeth (hence the fact that wild cats have rotten teeth and/or are missing most. It also does crazy damage to the insides. I dont think you relize what goes into wet cat food: floor leavings! Not to mention average age of a wild cat is 4 years old. So with all that info I think you may want to reconsider your thought process before giving others such strong headed advice.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.4/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 10 votes)
  18. Jill Says:

    I know this is purely anecdotal, but we have had many indoor only cats over the past twenty years, and for about ten of those years we fed them Iams dry food only, thinking it was a super premium cat food. We ended up with five of the cats becoming diabetic and losing six to cancer! Our cats all see the vet yearly or more often and are well cared for. They have all made it to their teens in general, but I find it hard to believe we would be so unlucky as to have almost all of our cats develop either diabetes or cancer (or both) without some common factor. I do believe that the Iams may be it. Since we switched to a better formulated food, one of the diabetics has healed (cats are unique in this ability to repair their pancreas) and the other two have halved their insulin requirements. The first two diabetics weren’t so lucky ten years ago. We still have two that are in the final stages of cancer, and we almost assume that the remaining few “healthy” geriatrics will develop either diabetes or cancer.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  19. Brandy Says:

    Jill, hi I currently have 2 overweight babies that have been eating Iams, what brand of cat food have you switched yours too? I am interested in trying it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. Pia Hellgren-Brooks Says:

    Many of these comment contain both true and false statements. The things is that cats, just as humans, do die and some of us have better genes than others. Yes, is is natural for cats not to eat kibble, but they never live to be, let’s say 14 years old in the wild. Iams is perfectly good for your cat as long as you serve both dry and wet cat food. The trick is to not be lazy and get used to just pouring the easily served kibble. Wet food advocates should never just rely on wet store bought food, but in the case they just want to serve wet food, give the cats real stuff such as real livers, real chopped meats, real fish (if one likes to give fish advocating what cats eat in the wild, since it’s rare that they do eat fish in the wild).

    I give my cat various kinds of dry cat food (among them Iams), and sometimes wet food which I make sure contains more protein than the super market variety. I also feed them raw food as well as cooked meats (always lightly cooked). I give her both dry and wet every day. She likes both although she naturally prefers some brands and some “real” stuff, just like us humans do! I have done this since she was little and she will never be allowed to only eat only one kind of food. But even with a good diet she could still get diseases, one never knows, people! Of course one is more likely to avoid that if feeding them higher quality foods. Iams is fine, more than fine. My cat usually eat some kibble every day (like Iams or Orijen or Eukanuba or Perfectly Fit), some wet food, like such Iams, and a Swedish brand called “Mjau.” Sometimes I mix different kibble together. Sometimes I mix kibble with wet cat food. I always mix all wet foods with water to make sure she gets enough water since she isn’t that great of a water drinker.

    She pees quite a lot, and her poo is always dark and firm which shows that she gets enough and good protein. Her fur is so shiny I can basically use it as a mirror. She gets cheese pieces as snacks and sometimes a piece of breakfast sandwich ham. She does love her fish so I give her real tuna as well as mackerel. She doesn’t need the cat variety that has added taurine since the rest of her food is protein rich enough, which means natural taurine.

    So guys, don’t argue over wet or dry cat food. Mix them, and avoid the low quality brands and your cats will thrive.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  21. Kristine Says:

    Long long ago, we fed our cats Whiskas. They ate much and often vomitted the food back up, which also caused stains on the carpet with all the artificial coloring in it. However, after years of Whiskas, they had Iams, although the vomiting wasn’t as severe, there was still many times they did. My cats were Bubsy, Princess and Elmo. Princess died of kidney failure. This was shortly after all the pet food recalls (diagnosed during the recalls, but she held on for 3 more years when the vet gave her 6 months to live). Bubsy however, went first from tumors, the biggest one the size equivalent to a basket ball in a humans stomach. Elmo went last, I think from a broken heart, though the fact that she was extremely overweight might have also been an issue. RIP my kitties.

    I am not saying that it was just the food that caused there deaths, but I highly believe that it caused alot of the issues they had in life. Bubsy was the worst, he got UTIS and had to have surgery after a major blockage. I was a child when we got our kitties, I was 5 when we got Princess and about 7 when we got Bubsy, and if we had known anything about the nutritional needs of our cats, I do not think we would have ever fed them Whiskas, Purina, Iam or anything similar.

    I am 25 now, and have an 11 year old kitty as well as one that is one and another who is two. I know more about there nutritional needs and I feel that the food I feed them now – Orijen – is one of the best dry cat foods out there. I highly suggest anyone who has a cat or is thinking of getting one to look into pet foods for your pet. Try to pick one that your pet likes but also meets it’s nutritional needs. Also, I suggest looking into who owns the food and make sure that the information you are getting is sound. Most good pet foods out there will cost more than the lower grade foods, but you and your pet will live longer, healthier and happier lives if you feed them better food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  22. luanne Says:

    Stay from Iams period! I switched my cat food and within a year my male cat died. After all of the research it turns out that their ingredients are horrific for cats. I regret not looking into this before I switched his food. I let my cat down because I thought Iams was suppose to be better. I hate Iams.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  23. gail Says:

    Wow! Thank you everyone! After reading all of your reviews I’m scared as heck now because I switched to Iams kitten food and Iams canned food for my kittens, and one is getting overweight. If it wasn’t 3 AM I would be out at the pet store buying Wellness for my kitties! I experimented with them when I first got them, and they threw up Taste of the Wild, and something California(forgot the name.) I agree with you all. I used to be a firm believer in Iams but not anymore. My dog ate Iams her whole life, and when she hit 13 years old her body started shutting down, and this year she showed signs of kidney failure so I had to put her down. I never thought of linking that to Iams dog food. I mean, I had her for 14 years with no health problems. Anyways, thanks again everyone. I am going to the store today to switch my kitties off of Iams ASAP! I’ll try Wellness first. I can’t afford the best of the best, but Wellness ranked highest for canned food. We’ll see how my kitties react to it. Experimenting all over again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  24. sarah Says:

    I’m completing a veterinary assistant and pet care course, and I’m searching for what people think about different types of cat food and if it should be only wet or dry or both.

    I have three grown cats who are about 10-11 years old in human years. We feed them dry food and wet food, and they have not had any serious health issues. However, our two female full white cats have missing teeth. The oldest white cat is the mum. We found her pregnant as a stray and she had four kittens. We’re not sure of her age as she was young when she moved in and had the kittens. She eats dry food as well as wet and has two teeth missing. The younger white one who is 11 years now has one tooth missing and is healthy. (Shes had ear mites once in the past.) Our male cat has all his teeth. So are white female cats more likely to loose their teeth?

    On the subject of Iams, I cant really say anything good or bad about it. I’ve read the comments on here about the effects of Iams and haven’t fed my cats this diet. My cats eat Whiskas meat from the tins and sometimes the pouches as well as normal cat complete biscuits. They also have the odd bits of chicken and tuna. I’m always cleaning out each bowl every 2-3 days because I wouldn’t like it if my fresh food was piled up on my food from that morning or day before!

    After doing research for my course I’ve found drops which can measure certain amount of water to help cats clean their teeth, but as I have three cats I’m not sure how it would work. Does anyone know any other types or brands of food which should be avoided for cats and dogs?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply