Felidae Dry Cat Food

Sun, Apr 12, 2009

Felidae

Felidae Dry Cat Food

Felidae is the name of the cat food brand produced by Canidae pet foods. Though Canidae is primarily known for producing dog food and dog treat products, they also now offer the Felidae line of cat food. Canidae Pet Food company is privately held, and based out of San Luis Obispo, California. Canidae Pet Food company was first founded in 1993. With the widespread recall of many pet food products, many customers have been affected by possibly contaminated pet food. However, Canidae Pet Food company currently has no products on the FDA's recall list.

Felidae Dry Cat Food Reviews

Felidae brand cat food is available in three different formulas, which are packaged as either dry or canned. Each of these three formulas is available in a 4lb bag, an 8lb bag, and a large 15lb bag. Recently, Canidae Pet Food company reformulated their Felidae cat food to contain a higher percentage of barley, with a comparatively lower percentage of rice. Though still not a grain-free pet food, this reformulation positively changed the nutritional content of the Felidae brand of cat food from Canidae's previous formula.

Felidae Dry Cat Food comes in the following recipes:

  1. Felidae Cat and Kitten Cat Food
  2. - Felidae's Cat & Kitten dry cat food formula is designed for cats in all life stages. The four main sources of protein in this formula include Chicken, Turkey, Lamb and Fish. The first ingredient in this formula is Chicken meal. Other ingredients include barley, peas, egg product and flaxseed. The Guaranteed analysis of this formula contains 32% protein and 20% fat.

  3. Felidae Chicken and Rice Cat Food
  4. - The Felidae Chicken Meal & Rice dry cat food formula is also designed for cats in all life stages. The main protein source in this formula is Chicken meal. Other ingredients include egg product, millet, alfalfa and cranberries. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula includes 32% protein and 20% fat.

  5. Felidae Platinum Cat Food
  6. - Felidae Platinum dry cat food formula is designed for older (senior) cats, as well as cats that are overweight. The fat content in this formula is lower than Felidae's other dry cat food formulas. Protein in this formula is mainly derived from Chicken, Turkey, Lamb % Fish ingredients. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 30.5% protein and 14.5% fat.

Felidae Dry Cat Food Final Thoughts

After Canidae reformulated their cat food formula to contain less rice, most consumers reported favorable results with their cats (both in palatability and overall digestion). Also, with all three formulas containing Cranberries, this provides some benefit for the feline urinary tract. Felidae cat food formulas do not contain corn, soy or wheat (instead containing rice and barley), which has also been a selling point for many pet food owners.

Felidae Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Have you ever bought and fed your cat Felidae Cat Food? If so, please take the time and let others know what you thought of Felidae Cat Food. Below is a ranking based on the price, ingredients and availability of Felidae Cat Food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +16 (from 28 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.0/10 (99 votes cast)
Felidae Dry Cat Food, 6.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Share
12 Responses to “Felidae Dry Cat Food”
  1. Terri Says:

    My cats absolutely love Felidae. I fed Iams before all of the problems and quickly found something better when one of my cats got sick. I like this as it is supposed to be for all stages and I have a Sr as well as a 2 year old. However, the 2 year old is very overweight so after researching and realizing the high fat content in this food, I am now getting the platinum formula and mixing it with Wellness indoor formula.Both cats will eat all of the Felidae out of the bowl and only eat the Wellness when they realize I will not give them more. So far, my boy is not losing weight but he’s not gaining any more either. I’m considering making the permanent switch and removing the Felidae but they both seem to enjoy it too much.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  2. Linda Says:

    I can barely find filidae catfood in stores can you tell me where else to find it

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -3 (from 3 votes)
  3. julie Says:

    Look on their website for store locator. Many feed stores carry this brand. I put out three kinds of food: Science Diet, Wellness, and Filidae. The Felidae disappeared immediately. Then the Science Diet went, and finally the Wellness.

    My male Birman has an autoimmune disorder and the vet believes it may have started with a food allergy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. Susan Says:

    I have a three to four year old male neutered cat. Felidae dry cat food was recommended by the vet when my kitty developed urinary tract issues. These are very dangerous in all cats – but especially male neutered cats. For the last couple of years, my cat ate nothing but Felidae and did very well. As mentioned above, the food can be difficult to find and I could not make it to the local supplier on time to purchase some about four weeks ago. Since my kitty seemed to be doing well, I decided to just finish the other food and we were almost to the bottom of the bag when kitty developed a urinary tract infection. None while on Felidae I might add. Thankfully, kitty will be fine but only with antibiotics and antacids. I will always make sure he has his Felidae from now on. I highly recommend it for all cats but especially if yours fights urinary tract issues.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  5. moe Says:

    Well Fedidae now has a grain free dry cat food as well as a canned grain free. Perfect for cats that have urinary issues or any other problems such as weight issues, etc. My 12 cats only get a tablespoon of the dry as a snack as per my vet’s suggestion. (My vet only practices on cats.) Their main food is Wellness cat food or Felidae grain free wet twice a day and grain free kibble as a snack only. My chubby cat trimmed down nicely and all the other cats are fit and trim. I think Felidae cat food took the initiative to take out all the things their consumers complained about, and formulated a great grain free product for our feline angels. No more costly vet bills here, knock on wood! Most stores do not have it yet so you have to order it on line. Good Luck!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  6. Kelly Says:

    My little man is a picky eater, so when I started to switch him over to Felidae cat food, he wouldn’t touch it. I had to go buy another bag of corn chowder (Purina) from Walmart to mix in with the Felidae. I just sprinkled it in at first and gradually added more and more. By the end of our trial period, he was picking out the Felidae and leaving the Purina in the bowl. He loves it! His coat is shiny and he hasn’t once thrown up after eating it. He probably threw up at least once a week on the Purina. I had no idea it was from the heavy corn meal and poor quality ingrediants from what I was giving him until I switched to a much better food. Thanks Felidae!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Jenny Says:

    One of my cats has a very sensitive stomach. I think I’ve tried every kind of food. She was doing okay with Hill’s, although she still threw up once a week or so. There is a pet store across the street from where I work and the lady who worked there suggested I try Felidae. Maddie usually gets a little peevish when I switch foods again so I was reluctant but I left two bowls, one with Hill’s and the other with Felidae. Well, she gobbled the Felidae up and loves it. Her coat is even silkier than before and there is absolutely no litter box odor. Plus, she hasn’t thrown up once and it’s been over two weeks since I’ve switched them over. If you can find it, even if it’s a little out of the way, get it! I’ve finally found a food that all of us are happy with!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  8. Daryl Says:

    Both our children love the Felidae. When the baby came along 6 months ago, we fed the two of them separately. In the backroom Whiskas Kitten for the baby. And for the 3 year old who was born three legged and is a little over weight in the kitchen with Whiskas Cat. We noticed that the kitten would eat the older cat’s foodand the 3 year old would eat the kitten food. After several talks with our cat people and becoming cat people ourselves, Felidae it is. Now we don’t care which bowl they eat from and the 3 year old is now trimmer and more active. Thanks Felidae!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  9. Kari Says:

    The Pet Orphanage where I adopted my kitty, Edmund, sent us home with a bag of Felidae and told me they believe it’s among the best of pet foods while still being affordable. Wanting to be as holistic as possible while on a small budget, I did some research and cannot find a better option. I did decide to spend the extra buck and I only buy Felidae grain free varieties, since the natural feline diet is grain free. It’s really not terribly expensive and my cat loves it! His fur is always ridiculously soft, shiny, smooth, etc and he seems very healthy. He never throws up and I do not smell “his business” in the litter box at all.

    I feed him a serving of the dry Felidae Grain Free in the morning and in the evening he gets 1/4 – 1/5 of a large 13oz can of either Felidae Grain Free for Cats and Kittens or Felidae Grain Free Salmon.

    I have found the best price is to buy it on Amazon.com http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003R0LKRW/ref=as_li_qf_sp_asin_il_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=calimoos-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B003R0LKRW!

    (You get free shipping too, which is where the other pet food sites kill you since it is so heavy.)

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. vjmw Says:

    My cats were on Felidae for a very, very long time. Probably more than 8 years. A little more than a year ago my older cat stopped eating entirely after I opened a new bag of Felidae. She refused to eat for several days. I’m guessing they must have changed the formula. At any rate, I switched them to Blue Buffalo Wilderness, and things have been fine ever since.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. WilliamRamez Says:

    We were not very educated about cat food before as we fed our much loved Himalayan cat “vuschka” almost any cat food you can buy at your local pet store, you name it. We have her checked regularly with some irregularities on her blood tests which showed she wasn’t in top notch health. She was then diagnosed with cancer last year July, 2010 and had her first operation which was a success. I tried researching a better diet and started feeding her Felidae. Last March, 2011, Sadly Vuschka again developed multiple tumors within a span of 6 months, and she was to be scheduled for a 2nd major operation this time, but not until her blood tests showed her to be capable of having one at 12 yrs of age. Her doc was amazed to see all her vital organs & tests showed her levels were normal for an oldie making her a perfect candidate for operation. Thank you Jesus it was a success! I believe that had it not been from good food, she wouldn’t have been eligible for an operation and eventually would have been put to sleep which would be unbearably and unacceptably devastating. She is now undergoing a holistic approach to cancer elimination with a combination of CoQ10 with Artemisin (which has shown excitingly positive results for cancers to cats/dogs) along with Felidae. She is currently alive and kicking! Thanks Felidae!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. Danielle Richardson Says:

    My cat is a huge pig, and will eat anything. It wasn’t a surprise that he loved the taste. However, the change in his behavior is unbelievable! He is a maniac when fed crap food! We bought crap grocery store food when we ran out of Felidae, and couldn’t get to the specialty store for a couple days. He turned into a terror! I will be sure to never run low on food again. LOVE FELIDAE!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply