Evo Cat Food

Wed, Apr 22, 2009

Evo

The Good


First, Second, Third and Fourth ingredients are all named meat ingredients

Quality Ingredients

Grain Free


The Bad



Full Review

Evo Cat Food

Evo brand cat food is a type of pet food that is manufactured by Natura Pet Products. Natura Pet was originally founded in Santa Clara, California in 1989. Natural Pet Products produces Evo, Innova, California Natural, Karma, HealthWise and Mother Nature pet products. All of Natura Pet Product's dry food formulas are manufactured in Fremont, Nebraska. Though some Natura Pet Products do contain both peanuts and butter, Natura Pet Products has publicly stated that there is no peanut butter or peanut butter paste in any of their formulas. Many food products were recently recalled due to contaminated peanut butter, though none of Natura Pet Products are currently affected.
 

Evo Cat Food Review

We are going to take a look at the first five ingredients of Evo Cat Food. The first five ingredients are a good indication of the quality of cat food. The ingredients before the first fat source usually make up the vast majority of the cat food.
 

    Turkey, Chicken Meal, Chicken, Herring Meal, Chicken Fat, Potatoes, Egg, Turkey Meal, Natural Flavors, Vitamins, Apples, Potassium Chloride, Carrots, Cranberries, Alfalfa Sprouts, Minerals, Tomatoes, Herring Oil, Cottage Cheese, Ascorbic Acid, Dried Chicory Root Extract, Direct-Fed Microbials, Vitamin E Supplement, Taurin, DL-Methionine, Lecithin, Rosemary Extract

    First Five Ingredients Analysis:

    • Turkey
    • Chicken Meal
    • Chicken
    • Herring Meal
    • Chicken Fat
    Turkey is the clean combination of flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts or whole carcasses of turkey or a combination of thereof - exclusive of feathers, heads, feet, and entrails.

    Chicken meal is the dry rendered (cooked down) product from a combination of clean flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts of whole carcasses of chicken -- exclusive of feathers, heads, feet, or entrails.

    Chicken is the clean combination of flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken - exclusive of feathers, heads, feet, and entrails.

    Herring meal is the clean, rendered (cooked down), dried ground tissue of undecomposed whole herring or herring cuttings, either or both, with or without the extraction of part of the oil.

    Chicken fat is obtained from the tissues of chickens in the commercial process of rendering or extracting.

    Crude Protein (min) 50 %

    Crude Fat (min) 22 %

    Crude Fiber (max) 2 %

    Moisture (max) 10 %

    Linoleic Acid (Omega-6 Fatty Acid) (min) 4 %

    Carbohydrates NFE (max) 7 %

    Vitamin E (min) 300 IU/kg

    Vitamin C (min) 500 mg/kg

    Taurine (min) 0.2 %

    Magnesium (max) 0.1 %

    Omega-3 Fatty Acids (min) 0.4 %

    Docosahexaenoic Acid (min) 0.1 %

    Total Microorganisms (min) 90,000,000CFU/lb

Evo Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Are you a consumer of Evo Cat Food? If so please take the time to rate Evo Cat Food. This will make it easier for people who are looking to purchase Evo Cat Food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +33 (from 63 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 7.8/10 (259 votes cast)
Evo Cat Food, 8.2 out of 10 based on 5 ratings

Rating (out of 10)

Overall Ingredients


This score is based on ALL ingredients
10

First Five Ingredients


This score is based on the first five ingredients
10

Protein Content


This score is based on the total meat protein content
10

Grain Content


More Grains = Lower score and No Grains= 10
10

Total

10
Share
48 Responses to “Evo Cat Food”
  1. Delia Sewll Says:

    All my cats refuse to eat.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.8/5 (5 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -11 (from 17 votes)
  2. Conrad Cady Says:

    My 19 year old cat would eat nothing but dry cat food. He got diabetes, and we searched around for a new, low-carb food. After being put on (my) insulin, and eating Evo for a week, his demeanor was better than it had been in years, though he has yet to gain back the weight he lost with the onset of diabetes. I am very happy with Evo (wet — haven’t tried the dry.) YMMV.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +10 (from 10 votes)
  3. Bear Says:

    Please introduce new foods slowly into cat’s diet. I use EVO dry as a supplement to their canned (don’t hit me)Friskies low carb varieties. I do mix the Friskies canned half and half with Wellness canned, its the only way they will eat the Wellness. Will try EVO canned when am out of all the Wellness I bought. Even with slow introduction the EVO gave 2 of our 4 cats partly sticky poo, and very very smelly. Time may cure the sticky part, unsure of the smelly… But can deal with smelly as I clean boxes out immediately, and is worth it to have quality food. Am wondering tho, if grains are bad for our kitties, because they are not part of their natural diet, then what about the potatos and cranberries etc? Why are these even used? I doubt if my cats would consume cranberries if given a choice… So I wonder about that… but overall, happy with what I believe is a quality food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  4. Beer Me Says:

    When we first adopted our kittens they ate Science Diet dry. As I began to research foods for them I realized this wasn’t the best food. As this was going on, the tainted food outbreak was occurring. I then switched to Blue Buffalo, but after a couple of bags I decided to feed them a grain free diet. I found a store that carried Evo and tried it. Each time we switch food, we introduced it slowly along with their old food. Not only did they like the Evo, but they eat less of it (because there’s no filler) and their poo doesn’t smell as bad (and there’s less poo too). Yes it’s expensive, but they’re worth a little extra. As a treat, we also give them a little grain-free Weruva brand wet food. They don’t get much, but they sure do love it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.7/5 (7 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +7 (from 7 votes)
  5. Lenin Says:

    My cat loves it. He started on Natural Balance at first but when i gave him to choose between Natural Balance and Evo, he actually prefered Evo.
    From the ingredients of Evo, it is actually pretty good as compared to the Natural Balance but it is too expensive here in Australia. Roughly 70bucks for a 3kg pax.
    Overall i’m happy with it and might stop giving my cat Barf diet in preference to Evo.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  6. Hanson Says:

    Our Savannah kittens love the Evo Ancestral dry food. We much prefer it to the IAMS dry catfood which upsets their stomach and causes regurgitation of undigested food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Lucy Says:

    I have recently started with Evo, since we got 2 new Kittens and they had problems with the normal cheap supermarket food, which is just horrorable from info i got myself afer researching, and i wasnt wondering anymore why the little stomachs will get problems with that. Since im still getting them used to it, our older tomcat of 2 years is eating it and seems to like it. As i brought the food home and opened the bag, he was right away interessted into it and ate some out of my hand and still keeps eating it now. The kittens i gave some into the cooked chicken/rice i made for them and the ate it together with it too. So for now i can say they at least like it and the intgredients are 100 times better than the cheap supermarket food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  8. Conrad Cady Says:

    Folowup: My cat was broken. :-) After a few months of eating the Evo low-carb cat food, he is fixed. I can’t speak for other cats, but it appears I was killing the cat with supermarket cat food. He was always an extremely shy, reclusive, basically unfriendly cat. After 17 years he was getting dandruffy and had a greasy coat. At a point a few months ago, he started to lose weight drastically and drink lots of water. I am diabetic myself, and we recognized the signs of diabetes. We gave him 2 weeks of insulin to get his blood sugar down, and started feeding him the low-carb Evo. Several months later, he has gained back his weight, and is (comparatively) very friendly. His dandruff is gone, and his diabetes is under control without insulin. He is no longer broken. :-) My lesson learned is that cats are carnivores and feeding them carb-y cat food kills them. For me, Evo is the way to go.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.8/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +13 (from 13 votes)
  9. Rene Says:

    Did you feed your kitty dry or wet evo?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  10. miranda Says:

    I just wanted to say that Evo is our all time favorite dry food. As a result of various circumstances we are caring for 8 cats. They all love Evo. Their coats are in great condition and they’re all active, even the 13 year old. I started 6 on it last year and they were tentative. But the youngest gave it a try and loved it, so the rest decided they better not let him have it all. The other two were switched from Friskies when we brought them in. They seemed happy to switch. I am so happy that there is a food that they all enjoy and is healthy.

    They are all less excited about the wet food. They like the 95% beef best but it takes them awhile to finish the venison and the chicken/turkey so I mostly give them other types of canned food but I keep the beef one in their rotation. I couldn’t find the big cans of cat food but I emailed Natura and found out that the 95% meat canned foods are exactly the same for cats and dogs (yes, there’s taurine), so now I get the big cans of dog food since my group needs a lot of food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.5/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Lisa Maria Says:

    Evo 95% Venison canned food treats Cronic Renal Failure in Cats:

    Tyrone is 18 years old. In the last few years he lost weight and grew listless. I guessed an underactive thyroid due to his age. Blood tests 2 months ago revealed his thyroid was fine, but his kidney enzymes and blood sugar were slightly elevated.

    I researched and found that Evo Ancestral Diet canned venison was highly recommended for cats with Cronic Renal Failure, CRF. Its low in phosphorus, i.e. less than 1% per serving. Phosphorus seems to be the culprit which brings on this disease.

    Tyrone is now back to his normal weight and has gained in muscle. He is bright and active. He takes no medication whatsoever, just eats his Evo with great pleasure.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  12. Rie Says:

    My cat loves EVO, but it gives him very loose stools. He is extremely healthy, and has tons of energy, and has less energy when I feed him Purina Kitten Chow for a few days days straight. I don’t know whether I should keep on feeding him the EVO, or find a different grain free food that won’t give him diarrhea, or mix the Kitten Chow and the EVO.

    Advice please?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  13. Catherine Says:

    I switched our cats from Science Diet to EVO two months ago after seeing the huge difference EVO made in our dog. My cat’s love it! There is much less litter box mess. We had a problem with one cat regurgitating undigested food, so far with EVO, the problem seems to have subsided!
    It could be cheaper, but so far, they seem to eat a little less. Overall, very pleased!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  14. Holly Says:

    Evo saved my cat’s life. He was diagnosed with diabetes and our Vet recommended this food. He made an amazing turn-around and is acting like a young cat again. Even tho he is only 9, he was acting like a old man. He loves the wet food and dry. I noticed the loose stools during the transition, but now all is well. We hope to get him off of the insulin very soon!

    Thank you, Nutra Pet!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  15. Jay Says:

    We have three rescued Maine Coon/ x cats, all of them with picky digestive systems. One’s an overeater, one’s allergic to all forms of seafood, and one who had near constant gas. After at least five different switches to different “high-quality” dry foods we finally bit the bullet and shelled out a few extra dollars and a little inconvenience for Evo…and it’s proven it’s worth over and over! They eat less, run more, smell better, and no allergic reactions at all. I will never feed anything else again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  16. bohdan Says:

    Rie: My advice is to NOT mix the EVO with the Purina kitten chow for your cat to eat. He is used to garbage low quality low protein supermarket food. His digestive system is not used to the EVO, as it is very high in protein compared to what he is used to. The diarrhea should subside in time as his digestive system adjusts to the higher protein levels. Alternatively, you can mix a high quality high protein dry with the EVO until he transitions to 100% EVO, such as ORA-JEN,(70-30) or ACANA 65-35. The ACANA is made by the same company that makes ORA-JEN. These are high protein dry foods, low carbs and grain free. There are 3 different flavors, and all are made with fresh meats delivered to the plant daily, such as free range chickens, duck, lamb, various lake trouts and whitefish, etc. As a rule don’t feed your cats any dry food, period, but there are exceptions in certain situations, as long as you do not do it for extended periods, and only to assist in the transition phase from dry to wet, or in your case, diarrhea issues. The non grain carbs will dilute the richness of the EVO a bit. You should also first try feeding less food at feeding time, and if possible feed more often. Try feeding a third to half what you give now, but feed 3 or 4 times a day, instead of twice daily. He will need less EVO to feel satisfied since it has lots of protein, more protein than he needs will not be absorbed or digested completely, and excess will only go through his system unprocessed. If all else fails (which I doubt) you can try Old School Nutrition brand name, which is grain free, but you will have to add a powder supplement to it, as it’s 100% protein and does not include all the vitamins, minerals and nutrients in it as does EVO. A good powder supplement is: Nature’s Logic http://www.natureslogic.com Hope this helps. I have been through all this to save my pal, Kooty, a male 13 yr. old tortoise shell tabby from diabetes. He’s well on his way to normal again, with a high protein diet, no more dry food for him. When I switched to a high protein canned, and took away his garbage dry food, it was like flicking a switch inside of him, he got better within days, and is almost his old self again. I’ll never feed dry kibble of any kind to a cat again. Acana and Ora Jen are the least worst of all the brands if dry is fed, as they are high protein, and no grains, but do have a lower percentage of carbs in form of potato, cranberries, etc.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  17. bohdan Says:

    You get what you pay for, like anything in life. Mcdonalds or the KEG? lol Same with cat foods. EVO or Purina? My cat was basically dying, and I was heartbroken, but I refused to give up on my pal, Kooty. So I researched and talked to everyone and anyone, went the holistic route, acupuncture, Chinese herbs etc. What worked was stopping the dry food, and feeding high protein, no grain, no carb wet diet. I’m so annoyed with Vets telling me over the years that I was feeding my cat “good quality” food, when in fact, I was killing him slowly. Vets get 1 week of nutritional training…..hello! What’s wrong with that picture? The Vet who diagnosed my cat with diabetes said his diet “was not a consideration” in the treatment plan for his diabetes! Huh? I went to a different Vet, who disagreed with that assessment.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +9 (from 9 votes)
  18. honugirl Says:

    I’ve been feeding my two cats EVO for quite some time now. I started with the Turkey/Chicken but they were throwing it up. Now I have them eating the fish version and yet they still get sick. Is anyone else having this same problem? My cats are over weight even though I don’t overly feed them and heard this was the best food for them.

    Any suggestions?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  19. kellie Says:

    My 14 mo siamese cat refuses to eat this food,he was eating Royal Canin Select,but he developed fur loss and excessive scratching from it,I have tried From,Solid Gold,Natural Balance,Before rain,he refuses to eat any of these foods! Help! I just bought a bag of Wellness Chicken,I hope he will eat this!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  20. Deb Says:

    I have been feeding a mix of EVO 95% duck wet food and salmon and herring dry food to my cats for about a month. One of my cats has been a mystery to my vet, excessive fur lapping and scratching…nothing seemed to solve it. Finally I decided on my OWN, after too many shoulder shrugs from the vet, to change to a very high quality food. I’m so glad I did. I tried Taste of the Wild grain free dry first, and they would NOT eat it, not even a pebble, even after days. In desperation I tried this and they love it. The cat with the issues has slowed down in scratching and licking, and his coat is unbelievably thick and soft. My other cat, a Coon with dandruff issues has almost cleared up totally. Both cats eat less and their stools are more compact and less frequent. They are both more friendly and sociable. It makes me wonder just how much damage supermarket food does to cats! If I had not seen these drastic changes in my pets, I would never have believed it. This food is definitely expensive ($20 6.6lb bag; $2.99 for a 12 oz. can)but so far it seems to be so worth it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  21. Gabriel Says:

    After reading about where the cheap cat food comes from I was very mad that I had been feeding my baby cat girl this. I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before starting feeding her Evo. I thought she would not like it-I got the fish one-but contrary to my belief she loved it. Her stool is harder and shelooks better. I need some advise on vegetarian or fish WET food for my cat.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  22. Suzanne Says:

    One of my males (he’s a yellow tabby almost 8 yrs old) has been quite the puker and picky eater. He’d been this way since we “adopted” him from our vet. He got really sick and we had to take him to the ER vet, turns out he has food allergies and has kidney disease. Have put all of the cats on the EVO dry salmon and herring. They also get the Wellness grain free tuna and salmon. All of them LOVE this food. They all look better and the one who started this off is still a work in progress but NO ONE has puked in over a month. Yes, it’s expensive with 8 cats but these kitties are worth it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  23. Amy Says:

    EVO Wet and EVO Dry for cats and kittens are the BEST! My cats love it, and it’s good knowing that EVO is good for them as well! Go EVO!

    The only not so good thing is that they are $8AUD 1 big + 1 small can for wet and $25AUD for a 1kg pack of dry food, especially with 6 cats. But it is definitely worth it, as Suzanne (comment above) says!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  24. Sam Says:

    I used to be a loyal Evo customer. I had seven cats all thrive on the food. However, they recently sold the company to Proctor & Gamble (who also manufacture Iams & Eukanuba). In addition to concerns about a decline in the quality of the food, I refuse to support a company that conducts cruel and unnecessary animal testing, so I am no longer feeding my cats Evo.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 14 votes)
  25. Rich Says:

    Everyone seems to be whining about the sale to Proctor and Gamble and claiming that the quality of the food is certain to decline, but there is absolutely no credible information available to base that claim on. Who is to say that P&G won’t leave the formula exactly as it is or even improve upon it ? Let’s wait and see before passing judgment.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 14 votes)
  26. Jennifer Says:

    My cat absolutely loves Evo (Chicken and Turkey formula, Grain free canned) and as he has just been diagnosed with stage 3 kidney failure I was happy to read that it is low in phosphorus.

    After visiting my local pet food store to stock up I discovered this brand had been sold to Proctor and Gamble and am very very upset about this.

    P&G tests on animals and I will not support that atrocity.

    So now I must find a substitute. Very disappointing since he does love this stuff more than treats!

    J

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 7 votes)
  27. Lesley Says:

    I fed EVO for years but will not be purchasing any longer. I am extremely disappointed by the Proctor and Gamble buyout.

    I went to the P&G website to see if they were reporting on this event.

    The first two things I saw were a big tab for “Investor Relations” and a news brief about a recall on some of their other pet food brands.

    They *obviously* do not have my cats best interests in mind.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  28. Jim Says:

    Our vet just highly recommended Evo for our once 32 lb Maine Coon, after years of doing what we could to bring his weight down. Now, our Mack is one big boy to begin with, but having him on a strictly controlled regimen of Science Diet Hairball Control Light has only brought his weight down to 27 lbs, and holding steady. Ideally he should be 22-23lbs, but feeding him 1/4 cup morning and night (vet directed) won’t take off the weight. He seems to be showing signs of arthritis too, much too early for a 6 yr old cat. Blood tests this week show everything normal, but we’re making the leap to Evo with high hopes. He is easily the best pet I’ve ever owned, so no problem paying the ridiculously high food price. We were also told to supplement the Evo with occasional boiled skinless chicken, so we’ll see how he likes that.
    As for P&G owning Evo, I couldn’t give a rat’s ass. Test away, I say, and yes I’ve seen the videos and read the books. Animals have no ‘rights,’ folks. There are atrocities in testing, and they are wrong (and quite limited), but the animal rights folks out there are complete lunatics. Imagine the world we’d live in if they had their way, which is basically equating animals with humans. Some freak in Austria just MARRIED his cat, for cryin’ out loud. LEGALLY. Wonder why the European race is dying out in front of our eyes?
    But I digress. Evo sounds very promising, and I’m looking forward to good things for our big Maine Coon.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.5/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 30 votes)
  29. Kristin Says:

    I’m a big fan of the no/low carb and high protein cat diets but Evo was NOT the food that was right for my cats. I really wanted to like this product and once my cats were converted over to the food, they seemed to like the taste. Unfortunately, it’s VERY high in fat (all my cats gained significant weight on this food) and one of my cats developed an allergy to the food.

    It took almost a week for the reaction to develop but once it did he started scratching himself like a flea infested dog and licking himself so often that he licked his lip raw. I’m going to guess he was probably allergic to the natural flavorings they put in this food because he’s eaten all the other ingredients before without problems. I feed my cats only poultry proteins so he definitely wasn’t allergic to the protein source in this food. They were fed the chicken/turkey flavor.

    I switched them back to their old food, Weruva, and within a day I noticed him scratching less. Its been 2 days now since he’s been on his old food and his lip is finally starting to heal.

    Overall, definitely not a food I’d recommend for sedentary, overweight cats or if your cat is allergic to an ingredient. BUT if your cat is otherwise normal, I’d definitely try this food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  30. Veronica Says:

    We have two Persians, one 2 years old, one 7. The 7-yr-old has a sensitive tummy and loose stools if she gets even a little stressed (IBS). I fed her Science Diet I/D (ye gods-vet recommended for her IBS and made her weirdly twitchy and irritable), Blue, then started Evo (dry) last year. She had been listless, seemed achy when she moved, never jumped much any more–always has had some back issues. After about a month on Evo, she was acting like a kitten. She runs up and down, jumps up onto the highest perch of the cat tree, is playful, etc. It’s a complete change.

    Although the 2-yr-old’s poo is not smelly at all, the 7-yr-old’s is stinky and sticky. Oh, man. It is so bad, it wakes us up at night (and we have an automated litter box!!). My husband and I are considering switching foods, even though that is likely to entail more diarrhea, no matter how slowly we make the transition.

    Any advice?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  31. Carrie Says:

    I got a kitty on December 26th from the SPCA. Since then he has been in and out of the vet due to his loose stool. Two weeks ago He threw up 9 times. We brought him to the emergency vet because he wasn’t eating or drinking and assumed he was probably dehydrated. He was. It took several trips to the vet and a sonogram and the emergency vet. We paid to have a feeding tube inserted because he hadn’t eaten in a week. Right before they took him from us we noticed that he seemed a lttle perkier. So we gave it one more try to feed him. He finally ate (steroids must have kicked in and made his intestines less inflamed) When we got home our regular vet suggested we change his food again. We had already tried science diet ID, WD and ZD. None had any real effect on his stool. It never really looked right. So I read up on the foods she suggested and picked Evo. After a week of this food his stool was solid. He also is less bloated ( he has always looked pregnant) Then I read that cats should really eat only soft food. I asked the vet and she agreed. So now both of my cats are only eating wet Evo. The past couple of days have been the beginning of being able to hold our cat without him growling at us. We had trouble with his stool smelling horrid before the Evo now we don’t even know he has gone. This food has done something wonderful for my little shelter kitty. I hope it continues!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  32. sjj Says:

    My cat has been eating Evo Cat Food for 4 months now. She has tried the herring, salmon and chicken flavors. They smells so good that even I want to try it; Especially the chicken flavor. Every night she will have a bowl of evo dry food, and in the daytime we give her a dish of evo mix canned food twice daily.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  33. Linda Says:

    I have also used EVO for years and had good luck with it but have found out recently that the company has sold out to Proctor and Gamble. Watch for changes in the ingredients.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  34. Vickie Says:

    I have never used Evo though I am looking for some type of grain free food for my cat who is having recurring UTIs. The vet recommended Science Diet C/D but he won’t eat it. I also tried him with Wellness whichhe at one or twice. Can anyone recommend this food as a good alternative? My cat is l6 years old and he’s just been laying around for weeks and taking antibiotics and his appetite is lousy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  35. Angela Says:

    We have two adult cats and we have never experienced the bathroom problems we have seen since we tried feeding them EVOcat food. EVO was given to me by someone in our family who purchased it for her cat after this cat developed a severe allergic reaction. My cats liked the taste, but we saw immediate diarhia and sudden issues with the little box. Aside from extremely smelly poo (and sick cats), we also noticed the cats scratching at themselves. We tried mixing it with their prior food and the problems have continued. Our vet did recommend this diet, but upon visiting this site, the risks are not worth another minute on this food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  36. Jeanette Says:

    My kitten loves Evo. I wanted a food to compliment the raw diet I was giving her. I needed something to keep out all day that was not full of sick filler grains. She loves Evo and is growing into a beautiful healhty cat.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  37. K Says:

    I am an animal nutrition expert and decided to try Evo cat food after getting a voucher for a free bag. My cat and all of my other pets have done extremely well on Nutro and we wanted to see how this “grain free” food worked. It has made my cat vomit like crazy. We never give it without being mixed (so to prevent reactions). No matter what, it’s too protein rich for cats. It is well-known that cats are carnivores, but they haven’t lived in the wild in many years, so people who want to argue that they need grain free have to realize that cats have had to adapt to house living over the years. We will stick with our Nutro, as it has been perfect for all of our pets!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)
  38. Kathleen Says:

    Evo used to be wonderful. I had a kitten who needed a no grain, high protein food & he blossomed while eating Evo canned & dry. However, somewhere between June-July 2010, the food changed. I noticed it looked different & my cat did not respond to it as strongly as he once had. It used to be his food of choice above all others. After that change, he won’t touch it.
    I decided to use the leftover bag for some foster kittens & cats. Every single one of them who ate the “new” Evo got horrible diarrhea, excessive vomiting & the vet thinks all of them have food allergies despite not having any problems with chicken & herring foods previously. For five cats at separate times with the same food to all develop the same symptoms and my cat now refusing to eat it. I firmly believe Evo cat food was the cause. I will never feed it to another cat ever again.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  39. Lucyfrom Pennsylvania Says:

    In September of 2010 I switched to dry EVO Ancestral Diet. My three cats loved it! I was so pleased with the ingredients of the food. Around Halloween I noticed my 8 year old female ragdoll was suffering episodes of violent diarrhea. Curiously, I also noticed all three cats itching themselves all the time. I took the 8 year old female ragdoll to the Vet yesterday. They are testing her for hyperthyroidism, pancreatitis and IBS. I am so upset after reading everyone’s posts. Why does it have to be this difficult to find quality foods for the cats and for me as a human! I am at a loss. I guess we will be switching foods soon!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  40. GeenaB Says:

    EVO has the protein level cats should have. My cats love it and crave it! Already getting one of my guys back to his svelte shape. Why are all my friends cats fat after 2 years old? Grain in the cat food they are eating. Cats never ate grain, okay. Wet/canned cat food it good! Cats need the moisture they get from a little canned /wet food per day. Ask your vet. Cats in the wild eat fresh kills and get their moisture from the fluids of that kill, like wet food. It make sense. I micro wave the wet food if it’s cold from refrigerator, just enough to make it body temp. It’s better that way for their digestion, and more satisfying. Cats eating human food is like an invitation for heart, kidney and pancreatic diseases/diabetes.

    My mother-in-law feeds her beloved cat tuna from a can. It’s good protein, yes, but the problem with that is cat must have a little Taurine daily or they will not absorb needed daily nutrition. Canned Tuna do not have Taurine supplemented. This is akin to withdrawing Vitamin B from a humans diet. Taurine is a crucial amino acid cats highly structured nutrition depends on daily. For hundreds of thousands of years cats have gotten their Taurine from the stomach linings of the prey they ingest. They must have it for muscular activity and other health needs. Was for water cats should get filtered water, free of all the pharmecuticals in tap water today. Cats will drink more water if it is filtered because it tastes better. That promotes kidney health. I have proven this over and over by the age and kidney health of my own cats in my lifetime of cat companionship. In Summary: Don’t mess with the older than human diet needs of the feline. I love cats!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  41. dark_eyed_dane Says:

    So in the ingredients it is listed that there is chicory root extract as an ingredient. I believe that this causes a laxitive effect and is an ingredient in Fiber One cereal bars for people. Does anyone have any experiences with loose stools with this brand? If so, how long until your cat gets used to it? Thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  42. Kristine Says:

    Evo was a good brand, I had used it for a while, but with the recent change in ownership I switched over to Orijen. I never had a problem with it, but even the pet store I bought it from stopped selling it because of who bought it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  43. hydrasports Says:

    A year ago I got divorced and had to give my adopted cats back to the shelter. Amazingly 3 week ago they were still there. Both completely remembered me and maintain their excellent personalities. Ozzie was the heavier one and developed diabetes 2 weeks after I dropped them off and lost 6 lbs. They are now back with me eating mostly dry and minimal wet food. Ozzie’s sugar is dropping like a rock. Are they happy being back with me or the food or both. Either way, they gobble up the Evo like crazy! As for P & G who do you think makes most of you household supplies? IE, toothpaste.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  44. geno Says:

    I have been using Evo dry for about 2 years. The cats like it, and it is a really good quality food. The problem is that since the kibble is so small (because it is marketed as a kitten food also) the cats just gulp it down without chewing and then vomit soon after. I tried finding food with a larger kibble size that was still nutritious and have been using chicken soup for the soul lately. The vomiting has subsided.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  45. Karen Says:

    This has got to be the worst cat food I have ever bought. I slowly introduced this to our three cats with very bad results. A day after eating all three cats had the runs so bad that we were finding squirts of poo in every room of our home! The smell is so bad too! Not only that, all cats have been throwing up as well. I will never buy this food again. Our new home and new carpet has been ruined by our cats consuming this food. It is expensive food that will leave expensive damage to your carpet! It’s so disappointing for a food that claims so much benefit.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  46. Amy Says:

    One of my cats who is 12 now, has always been throwing ever since he was two year old, whether it be several times a day or at least a couple of times a week. We had taken him to the vet to find out he was allergic to something in his cat food. So we began switching up his food all the time. We eventually had him on a low allergen cat food and the throwing up slowed down but is still happening. We even tried Purina One Sensitive Stomach and that was okay for a while. In January 2011 we heard of Evo from my sister and after we did some research and decided to try it out. It is grain free and we thought maybe that is what he is allergic too. My three kitties eat it and love it. The throwing up ceased and we couldn’t be more happy about that. Thanks Evo for a great product for my kitties.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  47. Kimberly Says:

    My 2 cats are 8 1/2 years old. One of them has always had bouts of diarrhea since he was a kitten. At that time the Vet recommended feeding them only dry food, Science Diet. When I made that switch his diarrhea got better, but he has always had occasional diarrhea. In November 2010 (5 1/2 months ago) my boys and I moved in with my boyfriend. Since then the diarrhea has returned and is worse than ever. The Vet thinks it could be caused by the stress of the move. The Vet sent me home with a Purina prescription dry food for sensitive stomach, but it causes my other cat (who has never had health issues) to vomit violently within 30 minutes after eating.

    So I’ve started doing research on Evo and am hoping someone can provide me with some feedback. One of my concerns is that switching to Evo may worsen the diarrhea. What is the best way to transition? I’m very concerned for my ‘kids’. Any feedback?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  48. Ginger Says:

    My cat loves this food! She has been eating this food for several years, and she has kept her weight down the whole time. I love the ingredients. I just wish it were easier to find in stores.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply