Evangers Dry Cat Food

Sun, Jun 28, 2009

Evangers

Evangers Dry Cat Food

Evangers brand cat food is marketed by the Evanger's Dog & Cat Food Company, Inc. The company was first founded in 1935, by Fred Evanger. Fred Evanger was a dog breeder who specialized in raising Great Danes. The first Evanger's productions facility was built by Mr. Evangers at his breeding kennels, where he produced canned dog food. That facility still exists today, and is the primary manufacturing facility for all Evangers products. Though Evangers is primarily known for producing canned dog and cat food, they have recently introduced dry cat food formulas into their line of products. None of their products were affected by the 2007 pet food recalls, and most of the ingredients in all of their formulas are purchased inside the United States. Evangers has gained many customers over the years, and has a generally accepted good reputation in the pet food industry.

Evangers Dry Cat Food Reviews

Evangers currently offers one formula as a dry cat food, though they have twelve different canned cat food formulas. Evangers dry cat food is manufactured with several locally bought ingredients, and has been featured on TV shows such as “Rachel Ray”. Evangers dry cat food formula is currently available in two sizes – a 4.4lb bag and a 12lb bag. Evangers brand cat food could be considered an “ultra-premium” brand of cat food, both in ingredients and price. Evangers dry cat food contains many ingredients that are not commonly seen in other formulas, especially protein-based ingredients.

Evangers Dry Cat Food Formulas:

  1. Evangers Pheasant and Whitefish Dry Food for Cats Cat Food is currently the only dry cat food formula offered by Evangers. The first five ingredients in this formula are Pheasant, Whitefish, Sweet Potatoes, Canola Oil, Peas and Duck. Other ingredients include Potatoes, Flaxseed, Carrots, Alfalfa, Tomatoes and Cranberries. Since the protein sources in this formula are not commonly seen in other cat food formulas, this formula could possibly be used when attempting to feed a cat with known food allergies. Also, since there are no corn-based ingredients in this formula, many cats will most likely be able to digest this formula easily. Two of the carbohydrate-based ingredients of this formula are Oatmeal and Millet, which are often good ingredients for cats with sensitive digestive systems (or who may not be able to digest corn, wheat or soy-based products).

Evangers Dry Cat Food Consumer Reviews

Customer reviews of Evangers cat food are overwhelmingly positive. Many customers highlight the alternate protein sources, the high quality of the ingredients, and the overall digestibility as being the main positive points. The lack of filler ingredients was also a selling point for many pet owners. Negative reviews were extremely rare, though some consumers reported that their cats were not initially excited about consuming Evangers dry cat food. Since many cat food companies spray artificial flavor additives on their food to make it more desirable, it is possible that cats used to these low-quality foods may have initial difficulty enjoying a food that is not sprayed with flavor additives. In general, the quality of the ingredients included in Evangers cat food formulas speak for themselves, as do the lack of filler ingredients.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 7.8/10 (8 votes cast)
6 Responses to “Evangers Dry Cat Food”
  1. GinGilm Says:

    While looking for another good quality food for my DMH named Charlie…I came across some interesting information from a vet friend…and it was true.

    Charlie had (as most felines do) a love of chewing/licking plastic. Something which was STRONG discouraged. However since he is a cat….no matter what you do…they find a way.

    So when speaking with my vet friend wondering if perhaps Charlie’s diet was lacking something which would make him lick every plastic item like a lollipop….my friend mentioned that some cats who have love omega-3 intake(Charlie is a rare..rare feline who thinks fish is a threat). So his diet was birds and red meats(Innova brand). My friend gave me a sample of evangers and upon reading the “whitefish” line I kinda figured Charlie wouldn’t eat it. But he loves the stuff. So now he gets a mixed up of the Innova and the Evangers…and SHOCKINGLY his addiction to plastic…has dropped dramatically.

    I have already recommended this to several friends.

    Weird isn’t it…I know…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  2. CK Says:

    After reading about most of the high-quality protein/low-carb dry cat foods on this website I’m now leaning toward Evangers. Unfortunately there’s not much feedback on it. I’m happy for GilGilm that her little lovie is doing so much better. :o>

    We have been feeding our 2 kitties (now about 9 months old) from a local cat shelter mostly Friskies Seafood Sensations. It’s affordable and supposed to be “complete nutrition,” but I’m not very impressed with the ingredients. I brought these guys home as babies, and they were both so dehydrated and malnourished that we thought we might lose them.

    Fortunately, after spending a whole lot of money on vet care, they are now pretty healthy, but they are also overweight, especially my Maine Coon girl, Tigerlily. Her poo is more stinky and not quite as well formed as Romeo’s. Our vet thinks she may have a food allergy, but testing for that is really expensive!

    I wonder if a cat food that does not have cereal/animal byproducts as the primary ingredients might be healthier and more satisfying for them. Perhaps Tigerlily eats like a piggie because she’s not getting enough protein from the kibble. I guess I’ll have to try it and see.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Marion Says:

    I have a DMH with food allergies. I wanted to find a quality cat food that my kitten not only likes but is good for her and eliminates the severely itchy skin on head and paws she’s been suffering from for months now. Does anybody have feedback on that?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Kristine Says:

    Evanger is really good food and my cats love it! However, there is only one store in my area that sells it, so finding it is really difficult! When I do find it, I only get enough to last me for a short time since they only carry the small bags of it too. I usually mix it with my Orijen because I can find Orijen more readily and my cats love it too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. lyn Says:

    Marion,
    I have two DMH brothers with food allergies. One is on Evo canned duck and Royal Canin dry duck and peas. When I added Nusentia’s Spectrin to his canned food, his asthma symptoms disappeared. My other one is on ZiwiPeak canned lamb (with Spectrin added), ZiwiPeak dry venison and Royal Canin dry duck and peas. This combination reduces his symptoms (itchy head, ears and paws) but does not eliminate them. I feed the third brother grain-free, dry Evo chicken and turkey. A vet at the Cornell Feline Health Center suggested that I feed my cats a raw diet. Cooked proteins cause the allergic reactions. I would check Evangers out if it were available locally. IT looks like a high quality food. I have to order the ZiwiPeak online, and the local grange isn’t stocking its shelves regularly with the canned Evo duck. I’m glad more pet food makers are offering grain-free dry and canned cat food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  6. Callie Says:

    i originally changed to Evangers because my cat was allergic to its old food. She was scratching and biting and licking herself. My friend gave me some of hers and it really helped. I think it is because it is low grain (which she may have been allergic to) and the main protein is whitefish. I like that it is a fish because it has the omegas to keep her healthy. She’s been on it for over 3 years now and she has been doing great! I also got lucky because I can special order it from the store whenever I need to.

    P.S. I sometimes mix it with the Against The Grain canned food to mix things up and give her some wet food. She loves that stuff.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply