Chicken Soup Dry Cat Food

Wed, Aug 5, 2009

Chicken Soup

Chicken Soup Dry Cat Food

"Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul" brand cat food is manufactured by Diamond Pet Foods, Inc. Diamond Pet Foods was first founded in 1970, initially established as a livestock food company in central Missouri. Diamond currently has three different pet food manufacturing facilities, which are located in South Carolina, California and Missouri. In the recent pet food recalls, Diamond did have one product that was recalled, which was also manufactured under the "Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul" brand of products. This was the Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul Kitten Formula, and only the canned type of this product was recalled. The "Best Before" dates on the recalled products are stated to be between 8/15/08 and 4/15/09, as stated by the FDA's official pet food recall information.

Chicken Soup Dry Cat Food Reviews

Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul is currently available in three different dry cat food formulas, as well as four different canned formulas. The dry formulas are advertized by the company as being certified "hormone and antibiotic-free", though do contain ash ingredients, as stated by the manufacturing company. Chicken Soup brand cat food is available in two different bag sizes for the dry cat food formula – a small 6lb bag, and a large 18lb bag.

Chicken Soup Dry Cat Food Recipes:

  1. Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul Adult Cat formula is designed for cats one year of age and older, with a moderate activity level. The first five ingredients in this formula are chicken, chicken meal, barley, chicken fat and ocean fish meal. Other ingredients include white rice, potatoes, methionine, salmon and flaxseed.The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 30% Protein and 20% Fat.
  2. Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul Adult Cat Light formula is designed for adult cats who have a low activity level, or who are clinically overweight. The first five ingredients of this formula are chicken, chicken meal, barley, fish meal and powdered cellulose. Other ingredients include potatoes, oatmeal, eggs and choline chloride. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 32% Protein and 9% Fat.
  3. Chicken Soup for the Pet Lover's Soul Senior Cat Hairball formula is designed for senior cats (7+ years old) that also have digestive problems involving hairballs. The first five ingredients of this formula are chicken, chicken meal, barley, fish meal and white rice. Other ingredients include potatoes, millet, salmon, duck and carrots. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 30% Protein and 13% Fat.

Chicken Soup Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Consumer reviews regarding Chicken Soup brand cat food formulas are generally mixed. While there are a lot of positive reviews from pet owners who have had no problems with this formula, some pet owners have experienced minor effects on their cats. Some cats seem to have an allergic reaction to Chicken Soup cat food, which involves scratching, itching, and skin problems. Though this is relatively uncommon, it is still important to take into consideration. As far as price, most consumers are happy with the moderate pricing of Chicken Soup brand pet food. Though not as expensive as some of the cheaper brands, most pet owners still find it relatively affordable.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +10 (from 14 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.2/10 (66 votes cast)
Share
9 Responses to “Chicken Soup Dry Cat Food”
  1. Julie S Says:

    I recently started using Chickensoup Cat food. Cats seem to be fine with it, but then I found out that the maker of this cat food, Diamond Manufacter, uses fish meal that is treated with ethoxyquin. So I am going to stop using their cat/dog foods! When I contacted the company they tried to tell me they ‘Are required’ to use the ethoxyquin. Which is not true. They could use other natural ingredients but they choose to use the cheapest preservative,, so why bother putting in all the other good ingredients. It’s like having a healthy 3 course meal and putting poison on top!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 12 votes)
  2. IronManCC Says:

    The last I heard, via several articles on-line, they were not using ethoxyquin and touted that their foods only used natural preservatives.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +9 (from 9 votes)
  3. Becky Says:

    According to the FAQ’s on their website, they do not use any chemical preservatives. I read that they used to use ethoxyquin but stopped.

    http://www.chickensoupforthepetloverssoul.com/faq/4/

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +7 (from 7 votes)
  4. Kaia Says:

    I have been feeding the Adult Formula of Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover’s Soul ever since Iams changed its formula, which used to have chicken as the #1 ingredient and had a 3:2 proportion of protein to fat. I have had no problem with the food. Availability comes through my local feed store and the price is no different that average cat foods. My cats also get wet food as many are old and have few teeth. They all seem well.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  5. Sue Says:

    I have been using the Adult formula and even though it has the best ingredients I have found in a cat food, it has caused all 4 of my cats (and several of my sister’s cats) to have loose and VERY STINKY stools because of the protein in the food. I am currently looking into other brands to use instead.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  6. shanna Says:

    I completly agree with you Sue. I have three cats and their stool is ridiculously stinky. At first I wasn’t sure if it was the cat food but now I realize it has to be the food because all my cats stink when they use the litter box. I will also be changing cat foods.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  7. Raquiz Ravel Says:

    My cat is overweight, and when I asked at the pet store, they highly recommended the Light version. I bought it and fed it to my cat for almost a year. One day, I noticed he was acting rather odd, and I quickly took him to the vet. The vet said that he had bladder stones, and asked what food I was giving him. I told him, and he said to take him off of as soon as possible. He is now on a prescription food for the rest of his little kitty life, as he’s now going to be prone to bladder stones.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  8. vickie Says:

    Some of you with problems do not understand that other people have the same problems with all different types of cat foods. My son’s cat’s have bladder problems frequently and they were eating wellness. My other son has many cats and they use maxi cat and eagle brand, and they have bladder problems. I use proplan indoor and chicken soup lite and have no problems.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  9. Kimberly Says:

    I have fed my cat the canned adult cat formula as well as the hairball formula for over a year along with other foods. Due to the constant recalls with pet food we do not consistently feed the same brand. The last three times he has eaten this brand, he has vomited within 10 minutes of eating. He has not gotten sick with other food, and he is not acting sick. He will not be getting this brand of food again!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 3 votes)

Leave a Reply