Cat Food of the Week – Timberwolf Cat food

Thu, Aug 13, 2009

Cat Food of the Week

Cat Food of the Week - 8/14/2009

The philosophy behind Timberwolf brand cat food is quite simple: create a high-protein, low-carbohydrate food that includes many healthy ingredients. One type of ingredient contained in Timberwolf brand cat food is herbs, which, in the wild, make up the diet of herbivore animals. Cats in the wild consume protein from grass-fed mammals, which supplies them with plant-based nutrients. The meats contained in many commercial cat food formulas are from grain-fed mammals, and do not contain herb ingredients. Timberwolf's inclusion of several natural herbs in their cat food formulas is designed to more closely mimic the complete diet of cats in the wild. This is one of the reasons why CatFoodReviews.com has chosen them to be the “Cat Food of the Week”.

Timberwolf currently has one dry cat food formula available for purchase, which is called Serengeti Herbal Felid Diet. Four of the first five ingredients in this formula are protein-based, which is a very positive sign of the total protein content. In all, Serengeti Herbal Felid Diet contains a 38% protein guaranteed analysis. Some of the herbs contained in this formula include Fennel, Basil, Rosemary and Parsley. This formula also boasts over 8lbs of chicken and fish meal contained in every 16.5lbs of dry food. As marketed by Timberwolf Organics, their dry cat food formula contains ingredients that are able to be easily processed by a cat's sensitive digestive system.

CatFoodReviews.com has several reasons for choosing Timberwolf Organics Cat Food as the “Cat Food of the Week”. First off it has great Cat Food Ratings and the high protein content, relatively high level of protein-based ingredients and exclusion of grains are some of the most prominent reasons why Timberwolf cat food ranks high in terms of optimal nutrition. In addition to this, the low level of carbohydrates in Timberwolf brand cat food ensures that it is able to be easily digested by most cats. The inclusion of several herbs, fruits and vegetables in Timberwolf's dry cat food formula is also a bonus, since it closely imitates the nutrition a wild cat obtains from consuming grass-fed herbivores. In terms of price, Timberwolf brand cat food is not inexpensive, though it is not as pricey as some other ultra-premium brands of cat food. In the end, the exclusion of grain ingredients means that it is actually more cost-effective, since cats require a lower volume of dry food in order to fulfill their nutritional requirements. Overall, Timberwolf brand cat food is full of highly nutritional, easily digestible ingredients that provide optimal nutrition for domesticated cats.

Last Weeks Winner: Wellness Cat Food

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 6.1/10 (10 votes cast)
6 Responses to “Cat Food of the Week – Timberwolf Cat food”
  1. Molly , Shadow and Troo Says:

    Oh yea the mom made us try it. We wud pick through that to get to our old food that she mixed in it. We is also set in our ways acuz we is 7 years old this year, and we always have gotten the same stuff. We think its too healthy for us. The mom tried we just werent hasin it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (4 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -6 (from 14 votes)
  2. johnypaycut Says:

    I’ve fed Serengeti for 2yrs, the food has been eatten and is 1 of the cats
    favorites. cat also likes innova evo (most cats like evo)?
    i’ve had a few friends who’v also tried serengeti, it’s a hit with many cats. and i feel this food is a excellent choice for most cats.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.5/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  3. Rosemary Adaser Says:

    I live in the UK, I have never heard of this brand…is it available in England, United Kingdom?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  4. NancyG Says:

    My cats will not eat this, unless there is nothing else to eat, and even then they are reluctant.
    If I mix it with any other food, they’ll eat the other food and leave this (unless they are very hungry).
    They like most healthy dry cat food, and they’re used to a lot of variety, including grain-free, but they’re not so crazy about this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  5. Kathleen Buchanan Says:

    I know I’m not talking about this food, but since your cats don’t seem to like that brand you might want to try, Blue Buffalo Wilderness. My cats love it. They won’t eat anything else. If they won’t eat it probably is no goods. I always fed & still do, two brands of dry food. I believe that saved their lives. I don’t know the 2nd brand, but the other was Nutro. When that huge recall was happening because animals were dying from kidney failure, several brands were called back. Nutro was one of them. A short time before that all of my cats stopped eating the Nutro, they only ate the other brand. I think that because they had two types always available that they were not forced to eat the Nutro or starve.

    I think the cats knew there was something wrong. So when they stick up their noses. Rely on their judgment. Of course sometimes they are just picky, but you don’t know for sure. Also some pet foods using a process called rendering. BAD STUFF, but they don’t need to disclose that. Try a food that has never been recalled. That means they don’t skimp on their meat, in my opinion. I feel if the company cares to make a quality food then they won’t use some of the rank, rotten meat that the cheap producers use. The recalled foods probably used the terrible leftovers and bad meat from stores and when it is just a little bit worse than it normally is, than it gets recalled because it is poisonous. That’s it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks
  1. […] has picked Timberwold Cat Food as its Cat Food Brand of the week. Enjoy, Sean […]

Leave a Reply