Castor and Pollux Dry Cat Food

Fri, Aug 7, 2009

Castor and Pollux

Castor and Pollux Dry Cat Food

Castor and Pollux Cat food was inspired by a cat and a dog (named Castor and Pollux), who were named after the "twins" of Greek mythology. Castor and Pollux Pet Works company manufactures both organic and all-natural pet food formulas. They have several sub-product lines, including ORGANIX organic dog/cat products, Natural Ultramix dog/cat products, GOOD BUDDY dog treats and Curious Cat treats. Castor and Pollux Pet Works is based out of Clackamas, Oregon. There are currently no Castor and Pollux brand cat food formulas on the FDA recall list.

Castor and Pollux Dry Cat Food Reviews

Castor and Pollux currently offers four different dry cat food formulas, as well as several different canned cat food formulas. Castor and Pollux brand cat food does not contain any corn, wheat, by-products or Ethoxyquin. There are currently two sub-product lines of Castor and Pollux that market dry cat food – ORGANIX and Natural Ultramix. The fruit and vegetable ingredients in Castor and Pollux dry cat food formulas are dehydrated, not cooked, which is thought to retain more of the natural vitamins. Castor and Pollux dry cat food formulas are available in a small 3lb bag, a 6lb bag, and a large 15lb bag.

Castor and Pollux Dry Cat Food Formulas:

  1. Castor and Pollux ORGANIX Feline Adult and Kitten formula is suitable for all life stages (from kitten to senior cats). The first five ingredients of this formula are Organic Chicken, Chicken Meal, Organic Peas, Organic Brown Rice and Organic Barley. Other ingredients include Dried Egg, Organic Flaxseed, Salmon Meal and Niacin. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 31% Protein and 16% Fat.
  2. Castor and Pollux ORGANIX Adult Indoor Feline formula is designed for indoor, less-active or overweight cats. The first five ingredients of this formula are Organic Chicken, Organic Peas, Chicken Meal, Organic Brown Rice and Organic Barley. Other ingredients include Organic Flaxseed, Potato Protein, Salmon Meal and Dried Egg Product. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 30% Protein and 12% Fat.
  3. Castor and Pollux Natural Ultramix Indoor Feline formula is designed to control hairballs, as well as maintain a healthy weight for indoor cats. The first five ingredients of this formula are Chicken, Chicken Meal, Oat Groats, Turkey Meal and Menhaden Fish Meal. Other ingredients include Barley, Beet pulp, whey, Dried Carrots and Dried Bananas. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 36% Protein and 11% Fat.
  4. Castor and Pollux Natural Ultramix Adult Feline formula is suitable for all adult cats. The first five ingredients of this formula are Chicken, Chicken Meal, Turkey Meal, Menhaden Fish Meal and Ground Barley. Other ingredients include Oat Groats, Salmon Meal, Chicken Fat, Brewer's Rice and Dried Apples. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 31% Protein and 16% Fat.

Castor and Pollux Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Most consumer reviews in relation to Castor and Pollux brand cat food are positive. Due to the lack of corn ingredients, many cat owners found that there were low instances of gastrointestinal problems when feeding Castor and Pollux cat food formulas to their cats. However, some cats seemed to tire of the taste, and had to be switched to a different formula after several months. Overall, however, the high quality of the food was the primary compliment of most consumers.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 7.6/10 (15 votes cast)
Share
4 Responses to “Castor and Pollux Dry Cat Food”
  1. Sandra L Says:

    I can’t believe the low amount of stars for the price and availability.

    I pay 9.99 for dry cat food at Whole Foods Market and it is always available.

    Great food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  2. Lo Says:

    I switched my cats from Purina ONE Urinary Tract Health Formula because one of my male cats is overweight, and both my males’ hair is very dull. So, I went to my local pet store (which carries wholesome food for both dog and cats as well as other animals) and did some research.

    Purina’s first five ingredients are: Corn gluten meal, ground yellow corn, chicken, brewers rice, wheat flour. After looking at other cat foods I concluded that Castor and Pollux (Organix) food was best with first five ingredients being: Organic Chicken, Chicken Meal, Organic Peas, Organic Brown Rice, Organic Barley. The cost is similar and the Organix Indoor Cat ingredients are clean. My cats who are paticular about their food like the taste. They seem happier and are eating less.

    The deciding factors in choosing this cat food included it being “made in USA”, the organic ingredients which are produced without chemical pesticides, synthetic fertilizers, artificial preservatives, added growth hormones, or antibiotics. In addition our formula contains no corn, wheat, or soy. In other words, we use only the good stuff, none of the bad.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Maddie Melamed Says:

    My cat has several allergies (Corn,wheat, turkey and beef) so I switched her from IAMS to Castor & Pollux Organix. She really seems to like it, and it has helped her stop scratching and tearing out her hair. She loves the organic chicken treats also. The price is pretty reasonable and it is available at several stores. I also like the fact that it is made in the USA, so no fears of the Chinese adding melamine or something toxic to it. I will continue to buy it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Me Says:

    I have had my cat on the Organix Dry Cat food for about 4 yrs now, he is 12 yrs of age. it seemed to be the only dry cat food he would settle on, when I made a switch back then. Things started out well. In the last 2 yrs I have noticed his coat is completely dull, lackluster in shine, and dry. He has gained 5 lbs since he has been on this food, and since he is considered a senior now, he’s not going to be too active, so burning the food off, is not going to happen to easily.

    My other gripe is that two local pet stores sold the dry but have since discontinued it. Given that I do not want to drive all over town looking for it, I have settled on two local markets that sell the dry formula, and they only carry the small bags. In addition, it’s over priced for a 2 lb half full bag of cat food, sort of like a bag of potato chips. So for the price, and given that it’s no longer carried in my local pet stores, I am officially in the process of switching his food to Natural Balance. I’ll get more for my money, and I hope his coat returns to the lovely shine that once was. I am no longer a fan of this food, for the reasons stated above. Too pricey for the contents, hard to find, and it’s giving my cat a dull coat as well as making him gain weight. No thanks!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply