California Natural Dry Cat Food

Fri, Aug 7, 2009

California Natural

California Natural Dry Cat Food

The California Natural brand of cat food is manufactured by the Natura Pet Products company. Natura also manufactures pet food brands such as EVO, Innova, HealthWise, Mother Nature Dog Biscuits and Karma. Natura Pet Products was first founded in 1989, by John Rademakers, Ann Rademakers and Peter Atkins. Natura Pet Products is based out of Santa Clara, California, and markets their pet food as "The Healthiest Food in the World", which is also their company header. None of Natura's pet food products, and none of the California Natural brand of cat food are currently on the FDA's pet food recall list.

California Natural Dry Cat Food Reviews

California Natural brand cat food is currently available in two different dry cat food formulas, as well as four different canned cat food formulas. Since California Naturals is marketed as a hypoallergenic cat food, the ingredients list on their cat food formulas is fairly short. To keep their pet food as hypoallergenic as possible, California Naturals cat food formulas contain one protein source, one fat source and one carbohydrate source. In addition to this, there are no protein fillers, chemical preservatives, wheat, corn, soy, by-products or artificial colors/flavors in any of the California Natural cat food formulas. California Natural dry cat food formulas are currently available in a 5lb bag, and a large 15lb bag.

California Natural Dry Cat Food Formulas:

  1. California Natural Chicken & Brown Rice Dry Cat and Kitten Food is certified by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles as being suitable for cats in all life stages. The first five ingredients of this formula are Chicken, Chicken Meal, Brown Rice, Rice and Chicken Fat. Other ingredients include Sunflower Oil, Flaxseed, Potassium Chloride, Taurine and Rosemary Extract. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 36% Protein and 16% Fat.
  2. California Natural Herring & Sweet Potato Adult Dry Cat Food is suitable for all adult cats over one year of age. The first five ingredients of this formula are Herring, Barley, Oatmeal, Herring Meal and Chicken Fat. Other ingredients include Sweet Potatoes, Sunflower Oil, Herring Oil, Taurine and Rosemary Extract. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula contains 30% Protein and 11% Fat.

California Natural Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Consumer reviews of California Natural brand cat food formulas are primarily positive. Many reviewers do not state any negative aspects of the food, and give it the highest rating possible. Pet owners seem to react favorably to the short list of ingredients in California Natural brand cat food, as well as the lack of artificial ingredients. The exclusion of corn, soy and wheat is also a well-received factor of California Natural cat food, since many cats have negative gastrointestinal symptoms in reaction to these ingredients. Especially for cat owners looking for an "all natural" diet for their cats, California Natural cat food was among one of the top choices. As a hypoallergenic formula, the short list of ingredients (and the use of a singular protein source) is a positive factor for pet owners with cats allergic to specific ingredients. Though California Naturals is fairly high priced it is not as expensive as some other ultra-premium cat food brands.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +3 (from 23 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.4/10 (31 votes cast)
7 Responses to “California Natural Dry Cat Food”
  1. Jennifer Says:

    I began feeding California Natural to my cats after moving to Canada and being unable to find the Science Diet that my cats had grown up with.

    I chose California Natural because of the single primary protein source and short list of ingredients, none of which are corn.
    After being on holiday for a few months, the cat sitter took one ten- year-old female spayed DSH to the vet for blood in the urine. The technician at the vet hospital said that the struvite crystals in her urine was directly caused from the diet.

    I was loath to buy that story, but I had no experience with the diet. Has anyone ever heard of such a thing?

    The cats are now on Royal Canin SO and I do not like the ingredient list for my cats.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  2. Peg Says:

    Jennifer, I wonder if the crystals in her urine are because of a dry food only diet? Do you also serve moist food? My vet many years ago told me that cats on a dry food only diet are much more likely to have crystals in their urine and advised that I also give my cat moist food each day (and moist food is another way for them to get more water in their diet too). So, maybe the food brand has nothing to do with it. I feed my 7 lb. cat 1/3 cup of dry food and 3 oz. moist cat food each day (1/2 can in AM and 1/2 can in PM)–vet recommended. Ask your vet what he/she thinks and good luck!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Nikki Says:

    The exact same thing happened to my female persian after switching to California Natural. She developed a severe UTI after eating this food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. Amanda Says:

    Crystals in the urine are caused by too much magnesium in your cat’s diet whether it’s in canned or dry food. Vets state that you should find a food that has less then 12% magnesium in their food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. S Brace Says:

    Greetings,

    I think all should know that proctor&gamble bought out Natura Pet Products Co, manufacturer of CA. Natural, Evo, Innova, Healthwise, etc, in 2010.

    I would urge all do their homework as to what happened with their purchase of Iams & Eukanuba. A good article on dogfoodscoop.com.

    I can no longer trust the quality, and have elected not to purchase anymore.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  6. Kathleen Says:

    I am so sad. I had used California Natural when it was owned by the old company and my cats loved me for it. Now I have new cats so went looking to buy it and was told a new company, Procter & Gamble, had bought it (it took me 1 1/2 yrs to find it again). When I finally found it the guy even cautioned against feeding the brand to my new cats because of the companies new ownership. I wanted my cats to be happy and healthy so I bought it. That was about 2 months ago. My male cat has begun to have problems, I took him in today and had to put him down. It broke my heart. He was going on 7 yrs and was a big beautiful long hair, my friend. I have always been willing to pay the highest prices for the best food because I can’t afford $600 to $2000 for cat hospital care. WARNING: The first thing I noticed when I bought this food was that it is now lined inside with an aluminum or tin lining, or something like that; this is bad too. I believe my cat got his UTI from this food, just as others do. Again, even the employee at the store I bought it at looked at me as if in a horror story. Like, I wouldn’t if I were you. Sadly, I went on my past experience from when it was owned by another company. It breaks my heart. Don’t buy California Natural.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  7. Pam Says:

    When P&G bought Iams they claimed they did not change the formula; that was a lie. I lost 4 kitties due to cat food issues. After that horrible tinted cat food recall in 2007? I switched to Halo. Ellen bought controlling interest in the company to ensure nothing would change. She was heart broken to thousands of pets died because of additives. My cat loves her food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply