BLUE Wilderness dry cat food

Sun, Jun 28, 2009

Blue Buffalo

The Good

Great meat content

Quality Ingredients

Grain Free

The Bad

Full Review

BLUE Wilderness dry cat food

BLUE Wilderness dry cat food is made and manufactured by The BLUE Buffalo Co. This recipe is the sole product in the BLUE Wilderness product line.
 

BLUE Wilderness dry cat food Review

We are going to take a look at the first five ingredients of BLUE Wilderness dry cat food. The first five ingredients are a good indication of the quality of cat food. The ingredients before the first fat source usually make up the vast majority of the cat food.
 

    Deboned Chicken, Chicken Meal, Turkey Meal, Fish Meal, Potato Starch, Chicken Fat (preserved with Natural Mixed Tocopherols), Potatoes, Natural Chicken Flavor, Tomato Pomace (natural source of Lycopene), Oatmeal, Flaxseed (natural source of Omega 6 Fatty Acids), Whole Carrots, Whole Sweet Potatoes, Cranberries, Blueberries, Barley Grass, Dried Parsley, Alfalfa Meal, Dried Kelp, Taurine, L-Lysine, Yucca Schidigera Extract, Turmeric, Fish Oil (natural source of Omega 3 Fatty Acids), Black Malted Barley, Oil of Rosemary, Beta-Carotene, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Niacin (Vitamin B3), d-Calcium Pantothenate (Vitamin B5), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Biotin (Vitamin B7), Folic Acid (Vitamin B9), Vitamin B12 Supplement, Calcium Ascorbate (source of Vitamin C), Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin E Supplement, Choline Chloride, Calcium Iodate, Zinc Amino Acid Complex (source of Chelated Zinc), Iron Amino Acid Complex (source of Chelated Iron), Copper Amino Acid Complex (source of Chelated Copper), Manganese Amino Acid Complex (source of Chelated Manganese), Potassium Chloride, Calcium Carbonate, Sodium Selenite, Salt, Saccharomyces cerevisiae, Lactobacillus acidophilus, Bacillus subtilis, Enterococcus faecium.

    First Five Ingredients Analysis:

    1. Deboned Chicken
    2. Chicken Meal
    3. Turkey Meal
    4. Fish Meal
    5. Potato Starch
    Deboned Chicken - the clean combination of flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts or whole carcasses of chicken or a combination thereof, exclusive of feathers, heads, feet and entrails.

    Chicken Meal - chicken which has been ground or otherwise reduced in particle size.

    Turkey Meal -the ground clean combination of flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts or whole carcasses of turkey or a combination thereof, exclusive of feathers, heads, feet and entrails.

    Fish Meal - the clean, dried, ground tissue of un-decomposed whole fish or fish cuttings, either or both, with or without the extraction of part of the oil.

    Potato Starch - No official definition...

    Crude Protein 45.0% min

    Crude Fat 18.0% min

    Crude Fiber 4.0% max

    Moisture 10.0% max

    Magnesium 0.10% max

    Taurine 0.15% min

    Omega 3 Fatty Acids* 0.15% min

    Omega 6 Fatty Acids* 2.0% min

    *Not recognized as an essential nutrient by AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profiles.

BLUE Wilderness dry cat food Consumer Ratings

Are you a consumer of BLUE Wilderness dry cat food? If so please take the time to rate BLUE Wilderness dry cat food. This will make it easier for people who are looking to purchase BLUE Wilderness dry cat food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +8 (from 16 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.8/10 (50 votes cast)

Rating (out of 10)

Overall Ingredients

This score is based on ALL ingredients
10

First Five Ingredients

This score is based on the first five ingredients
10

Protein Content

This score is based on the total meat protein content
10

Grain Content

More Grains = Lower score and No Grains= 10
10

Total

10
6 Responses to “BLUE Wilderness dry cat food”
  1. Crystal Wynn Says:

    I feed my two cats Blue Wilderness dry food. I add about 1/2 cup of warm water to it to make sure they get enough water in their diet, they absolutley love it. The only negative is that it is not totally grain free, although the grain sources are high quality.It does contain oatmeal & barley. I feel cats would better benefit from a completly grain free diet. I rotate between Blue Wilderness & Wellness Core (100% grain free)so they get more variety. Both of these foods are excellent, although pricey. My cats are worth it!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  2. Nan Claypool Says:

    Our three cats (including 1 Maine Coon) LOVE the Duck and are shinier and eat less volume than on regular foods. They are not as crazy about the chicken, although in their case, this may be a good thing. We do regulate their diets, but have been able to cut down amount since they got used to this.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Clay Adams Says:

    I don’t have conclusive proof, but I think that both my cats were allergic to this food. One cat lost a lot of fur on the back of his hind leg, the other scratched his ear until it would bleed, repeatedly. They were on it for one big bag and they’ve never had a reaction to Solid Gold, California Natural, Vet’s Extension or (their mainstay) Artemis.

    It didn’t happen with the first feeding, but by the time the bag had finished I started to make the link.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Melanie Says:

    My cat too, showed an allergic reaction to the food. My cat developed an oily coating on his back fur which he proceeded to pull out. Although the fur was oily, his skin was flaky. Switched to a food I knew did not bother him (Iams) and the problem stopped. Two weeks ago started Wilderness again, and the oiliness has returned.

    Hey, what are in the Lifesource Bits, anyway?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. erin Says:

    In regards to Melanie, the reaction you are seeing (oily fur, flaky skin) is most likely due to a detoxing effect. Iams is filled with unhealthy ingredients. When you change to a better food things can look worse before they get better! I’ve seen it first hand many times. I worked in a grooming shop for five years.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks
  1. […] BLUE Wilderness dry cat food formula is marketed as a high-protein, low-carbohydrate dry cat food. Designed for outdoor cats, this formula highlights the fact that it includes several complex carbohydrates, and is an alternative to “Raw Food” diets. The first four ingredients are protein-based, and the fifth ingredient is Potato Starch. The Guaranteed Analysis includes 45% protein and 18% fat. […]

Leave a Reply