Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food

Sat, Jun 27, 2009

Blue Buffalo

Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food

Blue Buffalo brand cat food is manufactured by the Blue Buffalo Company. The company was founded when one of the owner's dogs was diagnosed with cancer. The company began as a search for foods that did not contain harmful environmental toxins, which can lead to cancer in pets. Blue Buffalo claims to use many human-grade ingredients in their pet food formulas. Blue Buffalo has previously recalled several of their products in the 2007 pet food recall, including all of their cat food formulas sold under the “BLUE Spa Select” name. As a result of the recall, Blue Buffalo removed all products from their formulas that were made by “American Nutrition”, the company who added the contaminated rice protein to their formulas.

Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food Reviews

Blue Buffalo brand cat food is available in several different dry formulas, as well as many canned formulas. The BLUE Longevity formulas are available only in a 2.5lb and 5.5lb bag. The BLUE Spa Select dry formulas are available in a 3lb bag, a 7lb bag, and a 15lb bag (except for the kitten formula, which is not available in a 15lb bag). BLUE Wilderness formula is available in a 2.5lb bag, a 6lb bag, and a 12lb bag. BLUE Organic dry cat food is available in a 2.5lb bag, and a 6lb bag.

Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food Formulas:

  1. BLUE Longevity dry cat food formula is available in three formulas:
  2. BLUE Spa Select dry cat food is available in six different formulas.
  3. BLUE Wilderness dry cat food formula is marketed as a high-protein, low-carbohydrate dry cat food. Designed for outdoor cats, this formula highlights the fact that it includes several complex carbohydrates, and is an alternative to “Raw Food” diets. The first four ingredients are protein-based, and the fifth ingredient is Potato Starch. The Guaranteed Analysis includes 45% protein and 18% fat.
  4. BLUE Organic Dry Cat Food with Lifesource ® Bits is a formula designed for pet owners who are looking to feed their cats a diet with organic ingredients. Two of the first five ingredients are protein-based, while three of the first five ingredients are carbohydrate-based. The Guaranteed Analysis includes 30% protein and 14% fat.

Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Most consumers have favorable comments about Blue Buffalo brand pet food, especially their cat food formulas. However, some cats do not seem to like the taste or smell of some of the BLUE Spa Select brands of dry cat food, and other cats seem to have slight allergic reactions to some of the ingredients. However, most cat owners like Blue Buffalo's cat food formulas, especially the BLUE Wilderness formula, which is low in carbohydrates.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +11 (from 67 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 7.7/10 (257 votes cast)
Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food, 6.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
94 Responses to “Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food”
  1. Amy Says:

    Great ingredients but unfortunately my cats do not like it. My two girls absolutely refuse to touch it. And even my boy, who normally eats anything, will only nibble at it and begs for food more.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 5 votes)
  2. Jenn Says:

    My cats love this food. They have not been picky about the Lifesource bits at all. I love the vitality that it has given them since I have started it as a regular part of their diet. I prefer to give them the Healthy Entree (new) & Wilderness canned food varieties, and the Spa Select Adult Chicken/Brown Rice & Wilderness dry varieties. I avoid the Salmon varieties though, as I have read that cats often develop allergies to fish. So far, all of us couldn’t be happier with Blue Buffalo.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
  3. Amy Says:

    My cat had the major runs after using this product. She did not like it at all. The only thing she can eat is Purina One hairball formula

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -8 (from 12 votes)
  4. Charlene Says:

    My 4 cats (all senior ladies, ages 13ys to 23ys.) have all been eating Blue Buffalo for 2 years now and they are AMAZING!! Without a word of a lie, my 23 year old girl stalks and attacks my 70lbs. Siberian Husky for fun!!

    I switch from flavour to flavour and they love them all. One of my girls did have some loose stools in the begining, but it cleared up in a few days (that is how the body adjusts)

    I have also started using Blue’s Healthy Gourmet canned food with the dry and it is AMAZING how my girls come running when they hear the can pop! I have tried various brands (Wellness, Evo, Innova, Eagle, California Naturals, Natural Balance, etc.) but Blue has been their favourite for sure!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  5. Mel Says:

    My cats like this food “ok”. I switched to help with my male’s dandruff, but it has not helped at all. Additionally, my male cat is steadily putting on weight, while my younger female is losing it steadily.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 2 votes)
  6. Diane Says:

    We’ve been feeding Adult Cat Chicken and Adult Cat Indoor for 2 years now. All three cats love it, and they have beautiful shiny coats, bright eyes, and lots of energy. Too bad none of them likes the canned varieties, though. Seems like the more expensive and human-like the canned food is (we’ve tried many good brand), the less interested they are.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  7. Holly Says:

    I switched my cats from Nutro Natural Choice Weight Management to BB Spa Select weight control because Nutros been making some changes on ingredients and not neccessarily for the better. After my cats were very slowly moved over to the new food, I began to notice the coats were not quite so sleek as they were before and didn’t feel as soft. Energy levels stayed the same. I kept track of their weight and I felt they were losing too much. I usually had them on a low cal diet to maintain where they were at and their weights maintained great on Nutro. One of my cats started having some vomiting episodes and very soft stools… and now is on meds for a urinary tract infection… not sure if it is because of the food, but it is something I keep in the back of my mind. I think I’ll be switching back to Nutro. Just a suggestion for others thinking of switching foods to something more “holistic”… if your cat/dog is doing well on the food it’s on, don’t change the food. From what I’ve read I’m not so sure if the “holistic” foods have my vote quite yet.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -3 (from 9 votes)
  8. Adrienne Says:

    I have been feeding my cats Spa Select Weight Control for several years, although sometimes I switch over to “By Nature Weight Control” for variety’s sake. Both my cats like it, and have been doing very well on it. My vet says that their coats are in excellent shape, and that the 15-year-old’s is as good as can be for a cat that age. We recently tried the new “Longevity Mature” formula, and they both loved it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. Leah Says:

    I switched from Purina Cat Chow to the Buffalo Blue Weight Management formula after my mother gave me her bag when her cat was put down. I’ve been giving it to my 1 and a half year old boy and my 7 year old girl. I’ve noticed both losing weight, which is great and both of them seem to have much more energy. My boy’s coat is shiner and softer. His chronic tearing eye (due to a chmidya virus) has lessened. I’ve not noticed any problems in the litter box. I highly recommend this food!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  10. Roxanne Says:

    I have two cats and tried the Buffalo Blue Spa dry catfood. Unfortunately one of my cats developed soft stools with this and it was not good for her. I have switched them back to IAMS premium protection, but still am looking for something better….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 4 votes)
  11. Hannah Says:

    My two year old, Whiskey, has been on Purina and Iams, both, and I have to say, the Blue Buffalo Wilderness formula has had the best results. He eats a small can of wet food at night and snacks throughout the day on the dry food. He eats less than he used to and rarely begs for table food anymore. He seems to have a lot more energy and generally acts happier than before. He absolutely loves the food, too! I haven’t noticed much change in weight, which is why I began researching food in the first place, but I think as long as he doesn’t put more on, then this food will continue to be our best choice. We also have a very large dog (she has switched to the doggy wilderness formula), so buying expensive food can be a hastle, but you really have to think: it’s like having kids and you get what you pay for; it’s basically the difference between fast food and real food, there’s a reason it’s cheaper. Don’t hesitate to spend more if you want them to be happy and healthy!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  12. matt Says:

    We switched our male Bengal cat from Authority brand to the Blue Buff Spa Select, which I might add was incredibly expensive. We read some unfavorable stuff about Authority (ground hooves and other inedibles?) so wanted to get the good stuff.

    Bottom line the cat gets excited for Authority brand and as soon as I mix in some of the Spa Select he just walks off and doesn’t eat it. I think something about the smell or taste he just doesn’t like.

    When left in the bowl he will eat it eventually but just does not seem to like the stuff at all. Too bad, we don’t want to go back to Authority but he just doesn’t seem to like the Blue Buff product.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  13. Robert Says:

    Do not feed you’re cat this food! Well unless you want it to get sick and have issues later on. This product contains fruits! Cats are carnivores they are not meant to eat fruit! It’s plain sense. I have seen countless cats come into the vet with health issues, and guess what they are being feed, you guessed it! I would recommend Purina pro plan. Fancy feast, Nutro Max, etc. well anything but blue buffalo! thank you and good luck.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (7 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -34 (from 40 votes)
  14. Aleta Says:

    I don’t know about this food. I was in the process of switching my cat from the Nutro Max Cat to the Blue Dry Cat Food, Longevity formula for Mature cats. I was doing the way they said, half and half at first, etc. Well, she puked several times two mornings in a row after eating it. So now I’m back to just Nutro Max cat and no more puking. I don’t know if it was the Blue cat food or not, but I’m not taking any chances. I just want the best for my cat and that is why I switched, but the most expensive is not necessarily the best. Plus, my cat is not a big eater anyway and the only time I ever saw her delightfully wolfing down her food was after she had had a gum disease and couldn’t eat as much for awhile and was catching up. Otherwise she just eats as much as she needs and not a bit more. She didn’t eat the Blu any more than she eats the others. She’s not a big cat and about right weight-wise, maybe a little under if anything. I sure don’t need her losing weight!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -5 (from 7 votes)
  15. JANA Says:

    The Blue Buffalo Spa Select lifebits were enjoyed by my 15 year old Himilayan but she had severe food allergies. We switched her to this from California Natural just because of the convenience of places that sell it (as opposed to having to special order Cal Nat). But after her reaction…. and a trip to the vet…. we are going back to Cal Nat.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 4 votes)
  16. catmom Says:

    My 7 month old kitty stopped eating Hill’s canned food, so I switched him to Blue Buffalo canned food with no problems. HOWEVER, I’ve been trying to switch his dry food to Blue Buffalo as well and have had nothing but problems. I’ve mixed his former dry food (Hill’s) with the Blue Buff dry food (1/2 – 1/2) and he did fine for about a week. Then he started vomiting right after he would eat the dry mix. Also, I have a 2 year old lab who often gets into the dry cat food. She has also started vomiting. In fact, she vomited so much that she’s only been able to eat rice and eggs for the past 4 days. When they don’t eat the Blue Buff dry cat food, they’re fine, but as soon as they eat it, they vomit. Unfortunately, I purchased a LARGE bag of the Blue Buff dry cat food to start with, so I’ve lost about $30, but I’m definitely switching back to Hill’s!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 7 votes)
  17. Madison Says:

    I have been feeding my two male cats (age 3 and 1 1/2) Blue Buffalo Indoor Dry Food for the past year or so and they LOVE it! They are both so soft and shiny and eat much less of this food than what they were given previously. We give them a tablespoon each of the wet food at dinner time and this goes over great too, except our one cat will not touch the turkey flavor — the braised beef liver seems to be the house favorite. I definitely recommend this product! The Spa Select Treats were not a big hit, however.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  18. Kathy Says:

    Switched from EVO to wilderness about 2 years ago partly for price and got a sample and gave it to my cats and they devoured it. I check from time to time on the market to see what is new. I have a small Pixie bob cattery. I have 3 queens 1 king and 2 house cats. All of them are Pixie bobs.

    I have had nothing but big trouble with my 3 queen pixiebobs in the past 18 months. they have reabsorbed 2 of their their litters. and one has only had 2 single kitten litters in a row. in back of my mind thought was it the food as that was the only change. My stud wasn’t the problem as he sired a litter of 5 kittens to a queen outside of my cattery. But thought na couldn’t be this food. All my cats liked the food and their coats seemed to get even sleeker. My King left all the lifesource bits behind though. All of their stools were very smelly. I didn’t like that fact about it.

    But today as I brushed out my 2 house cats seeing as they were sheddeing more than they ever have in the past all most all of their under coats came out completely!!!! They look very sickly! Those 2 were being fed the longevity as they were both just a bit over weight. And I had been feeding them that to keep it under control. which they didn’t really care for it over the spa select but they ate it. They only lost a bit of weight. They had been on it for about 8 months now. With this shock I am never giving any form of blue buffalo food to them again. I will also encourage anyone else to pass it by too. I brushed the other cats today and they had hardly any fur come out at all. But they were not being fed the longevity adult formula. With this shocking experience I am now convinced that the wilderness and the spa select foods were also the fault for the trouble I have been having with my litters. The one healthy litter I was able to get the kittens had problems from the get go with the spa select kitten formulas with very smelly stools and very loose.. we switched them to diamond pet food the active cat. and they both cleared up right away. So Please don’t use this food. I am switching back to EVO. The price is worth healthy cats and kittens. It is obviouse that even thought the label on the bag seemed to be very high class it definately is malnurishing my cats. specially the longevity formulas. I just hope others don’t let their cats go through what I did with mine. I feel so bad. I just had no idea this was happening.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -4 (from 14 votes)
  19. Peter Says:

    First let me say I have done extensive and exhaustive, over the top research on cat foods, canned and dry, and here’s my opinion of Blue Buffalo Dry Cat Food.

    This is a top of the line cat food, made with exceptional ingredients, but it does have some potential drawbacks. The Drawbacks are Extremely High Protein 45%, and a High Ash / Phosphorus 8.5% content.

    High Protein / Ash content will lead to Renal (Kidney) failure in cats. This is the number 2 killer of cats just behind number 1… cancer. If your cat is fed Blue Buffalo Dry Cat food everyday it’s potential to develop renal failure will be increased.

    The positive side of having a high protein food is that it can help sick, or cats recovering from surgery, as it will build their strength quickly, especially if their appetites are low.

    To sum it all up, feed it to healthy cats once a week, feed it to sick / recovering cats until signs of improvement occur.

    I wish you, and your feline friend, Happiness and Health!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 6 votes)
  20. sim Says:

    I switched my cat from Iams dry cat adult food to Blue Spa Select for indoor cats. She did not have any problems with it. her coat was much healthier. Recently, I started using Blue Wilderness cat food and she has lot of dry flaky dandruff like stuff on her coat. I’m not sure if it’s because of the food. she has lost weight and looks much sleeker and is more active though.

    Also, I checked the contents in the Blue Wilderness cat food and I don’t think it has any phosphorus or ash in there. Still, I’m not sure about the food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  21. Christy Says:

    I have been feeding this food, particularly the kitten formula to my cats for a couple years. I have one highly sensitive to grains and she cannot keep anything with corn down (which of course rules out a very large majority of dry cat foods.) We were going through the bags quite regularly, my cats loved it! But it seems like something has changed in the last couple months. Quite suddenly they will not touch it. Unfortunately, I will be changing brands. My kitties are getting skinny and unhealthy from not eating like they should now. I do have a young cat who is already developing kidney disease though, and that concerns me now about this food as well as it is the food she has eaten most of her life.

    However, I did have a Ragdoll Tom who had repeat urinary crystal issues. Once I had switched him to BB, he didn’t have the problem again. The vegetable/fruit ingredients really were a benefit to him.

    I am now unsure about this food, though I have highly recommended it in the past. It seems right for some cats, but not for others.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  22. Alycia Says:

    I purchased Blue Buffalo kitten and adult cat dry food for my cat and kitten after reading an article in a magazine about the ingredients in cat foods. My two cats were previously on Science Diet which I believed to be the best cat food until learning more about the ingredients that were in it. Once I learned about what my cats were really eating I had to make the switch. I slowly weened my two cats off of Science Diet to Blue Buffalo over the course of two weeks to avoid a major change in taste, smell, and any problems the switch would have on their stomachs. I was going to switch my kitten over to Blue Buffalo first, but my adult cat kept eating her food, (which she never did before) so I had to switch them at the same time. Currently, they have been eating Blue Buffalo (without any Science Diet mixed in) for over a week and they love it!!! I couldn’t be more pleased knowing that they love it and are eating better, healthier ingredients! I give the food two thumbs up and have recommended it to my friends and family – who have also switched over to Blue Buffalo cat food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 5 votes)
  23. Sara Says:

    I recently purchased the Blue Buff dry cat food and attempted to switch Bijou (my cat) over, since I have had such good luck with the dry dog food, and I am disappointed with the cat food, to say the least. Actually maybe disgusted is a better word. I mixed Blue Buff with Bijou’s normal food, and after every feeding she vomited, and not just in one spot, but in several little trails throughout the house. I took her to the vet to make sure she didn’t have some kind of bowel obstruction, i.e. a massive hairball, and the vet found nothing. Fortunately, PetSmart let me return the food and exchange it for her normal PurinaOne Indoor formula which has been great for us…I shouldn’t have attempted to switch the food in the first place. Lesson learned.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 8 votes)
  24. MJ Says:

    We tried the ‘Spa Select- Weight Control’ for our indoor, 3 year old spayed female. She loved the food, but her GI tract did not. Despite transitioning s…l…o…w…l…y she has a lot of diarrhea, loose stool, and gastric upset. She ate the food with vigor, so she found it palatable. We ended up switching back to the Purina Pro Plan. It just worked better for her.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 8 votes)
  25. Leanne Says:

    Hi There
    I have a 8 a half month old kitten and I have had him on Science Diet for kittens both wet and dry. I decided to switch him to the adult 1yr old science diet wet as for the kittens they only had three flavours. He was doing fine on the wet adult food, but again he got bored with the same flavours. I was recommended to try the blue buffalo wet food. My cat liked it at first..Then one day I opened a tin fed him his 1/4 tin for breakfast and to my surprise when i got home from work he had thrown up on the staircase…no big deal. WHen I looked at the tin, I noticed that there was a white fat like materials sitting on the top. I took it to pet smart and exchanged it for a newer tin of the same flavour. Just lastnight, I gave him a 1/4 of the tin for supper to see if it was just the bad tin that got him upset. To my surprise, he threw up three times this morning. Took him to the vet and the vet didnt know what was wrong and suggested to stay off the Blue Buffalo and try their special medicated food. To make a long story short, I refused to let him eat the blue buffalo wet food and vet food and stuck him back on science diet. He started eaten sciecne diet since this morning and hasnt thrown up since. Im not like the brand blue buffalo at all…Not worth getting a kitten sick and not happy about eating any kind of food…

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  26. Jenn Says:

    Please do not use this food. My cats loved it but it killed my male cat Singer. I was feeding them the wildress variety. It has an undisclosed and inappropriate level of ph that caused crystals in his urine which blocked his eurethra. We were unable to save him.

    I thought this food was great and used to go across town to get it but after talking to the vet and losing my kitty (he was 4 years old). I will never buy this food again. Please use wet food, and a small amount of vet approved dry food. Google proper ph cat food to find more info. AND be aware that even the info on pet food lables isn’t regulated well so the info can be misleading. Ask your vet to recommend a safe food.

    Thanks,
    Jenn

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 5 votes)
  27. Jenn Says:

    P.S. Okay, now I feel really stupid. Singer vomited fairly often but I didn’t think it was the food. I thought it was because he ate too fast and was excited when he was fed. Thanks for your comments everyone – after reading about your experiences I’m convinced the vomiting was related to the blue bufallo food. I’m glad you’re trying to keep your cats healthy and I wish you all well.

    Jenn

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  28. Sunny Says:

    I thought this would be a great choice for my kitten until I did some research. The grains (3rd ingredient is brown rice) and then oats and barley, are very difficult for cats to digest as they do not have long intestines like us. These ingredients, however healthy they sound, are not very good for cats. They are used as fillers. They rest of the ingredients are great however.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  29. JT Says:

    I would like some feedback from vetinarians about Blue dry food. I believe my one male cat has developed Struvite crystals and has been on Blue Buffalo dry and a little wet food for 3 months. Never had an issue before this with him. His brother however has had issues with Struvite for 3 years.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  30. Shannon Says:

    My Maine Coon male (3yrs) ate pro plan up until five months ago. He was gaining a lot of weight. Because of this and all of the pet food recalls associated with corn, I made a switch to Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover’s Soul. I had no problems with this food at all, and my boy lost weight as well. However, it just seemed like all of a sudden he had no interest in the food. Since he refuses to eat canned food (but has always been a big drinker), I knew I had to make a switch. My cat wasn’t eating, all he wanted was treats.

    So, about 10 days ago I made the switch to Blue Wilderness, while at the same time leaving the Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover’s Soul out in case he changed his mind. He seemed to instantly love the Blue Wilderness. However, during the past five days one of my three cats has been throwing up. BACKTRACK SEVEN DAYS: My mother came over to visit. I told her I purchased this food, and since she has been looking into a better cat food, I gave her enough for one bowl (this was a Saturday). Monday-Wednesday as I came home from work, my teen told me one of the cats had thrown up, but they cleaned it up. I was thinking hairballs or something. After all, the cats all seemed very active. My mother called up Wednesday night and said, “You know that food you gave me is making my cat sick. He has thrown up four days in a row now. It’s this thick foamy/milky type of puke. I took away the food today.” THURSDAY: I get home from work and there to greet me is this thick, foamy, milky puke all over the carpet. I went directly to my Jericho who seemed happy and playful. Jericho has never been a puker, only a hairball on occasion. He was the only cat eating this Blue, the other two won’t touch it. So he seem fine, acted normal. I cleaned up the puke with my mother’s comments in my head. I called her up to see how the cat was doing. She said, “He seems fine now that I put him back on his regular food. He didn’t throw up today.” FRIDAY NIGHT: My teen calls me down to the basement to point out the fact he saw Jericho puking. Nothing but Blue Wilderness food! I got in my car, drove to the pet store, and purchased a bag of Natural Balance Ultra. Some people may not say this is the greatest food, but I know it is a decent food choice. I brought it home, feed my boy (who seemed to love the taste of the food). SUNDAY: Jericho has been over-the-top happy and playful (really). He has not puked since Friday. CONCLUSION: You could say it may have been something else, but how do you explain the same symptoms to two cats in different households getting sick in the same fashion and time frame. Both stopped puking after Blue Wilderness was discontinued.

    Be careful with some of the fancy foods. Just a side note: I’m 37. I’ve had several cats through out my lifetime. Growing up these animals were raised on the cheapest junk foods on the market. We didn’t have any cats who passed away before their 14th birthday. And had four who lived from the ages of 18 to 24!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  31. Jim Says:

    Our five year old male Bengal is not a big dry food fan. He mostly eats canned food but will eat dry if he’s hungry. He turns his nose up at it and I don’t care what brand of premium chow we try to feed him. My wife brought this Blue Indoor Health Chicken&Brown Rice home the other day and he’s been tearing it up. This idiot cat will eat it out of the bag and does not want to stop. I swear sometimes I think he needs to come up for air. I don’t know what’s in this stuff but I can honestly tell you Styfler loves it and is gaining weight (not that he needs to). Does anyone know if there is any downside healthwise to feeding our cats this chow?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  32. Dorothy Says:

    I wish I had read these reviews before buying a few cans of Blue. My cats did fine with a little can of chicken (wilderness formula), but a trial of the Spa Select Seafood Stew led one of them to vomit all over the rugs in my office—a domestic calamity that has cost me two work days (trying to get rid of the foul smell) and may force me to sacrifice the rugs (to the tune of around $500.).

    I lost my first cat to renal failure, and yes: unregulated protein levelscan cause this. I don’t think the people who manufacture BLUE know much about cats from a physiological standpoint. And they are certainly not making a product that cats keep down well.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 3 votes)
  33. Monet Chopin Says:

    I got my female and male kittens at 7 weeks old and they’ve been fed Blue’s wet and dry kitten food for 2 months now. They are gorgeous and playful then one day i brought home another $1/can of food i don’t want to name the label because i don’t want to deter anyone from buying that product BUT my cats vomited OVER and OVER and had loose stool they even had messes FAR from their litter box and they ARE potty trained. I REALLY BELIEVE it’s not the brand that’s making the kittens vomit, it’s the change in food. I got them back on the blue stuff and they’re all better. I mix all of the BLUE dry Kitten products together in their food storage container so there’s no one product that stands out. I do give them the wet food but there isn’t one particularly for kittens. I’m planning on keeping them on BLUE since they are doing just great and they nibble on it all day long.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  34. Natalia Says:

    I rescued two kittens off the street and began by feeding them Blue Buffalo Longevity Kitten Dry Food. They loved it from the beginning and have showed significant improvement. Their coat is shiny, they are very active (well, most kittens are) and every time they hear me take the bag out they run into the kitchen. It is very expensive though, so I’m considering switching them to another Blue Buffalo brand that’s not $19 a bag, but want to stay within Blue Buffalo as I feel these cats were so undernourished that they need the best start to their young lives.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  35. Diane Says:

    My kitten became so sick after eating this cat food. His diarrhea so bad that it cost us a trip to the vet. I was very surprised since this is considered a “premium” food but now we’re going back to Purina One after reading all of these comments.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  36. Tony Boutwell In Dallas Says:

    Hey, I was looking to possibly switch cat food from Iams dry to this Blue Buffalo Cat Food. My cat, December, is a 13 yrs old female (inside cat only) and has never been sick. She has been with us since she was kitten from the shelter. She has only been fed Iams dry cat food, which at the time I believed was the best you could buy, but most of you seem to have problems with Blue Buffalo and are going back to your original cat food, however only few of you use Iams. I guess I should just stay with what is working. Tony

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  37. Heli's Parent Says:

    I gave my 7-month old Himalayan Blue Buffalo Longevity Kitten food. He liked it, but developed severe diarrhea (closer to brown water than not). He did not have this problem when he was eating Blue Ridge beef with Kirkland dry food mixed in. We’ll be switching back to non-sickening cat food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  38. JMS18222 Says:

    My 5 year old brother/sister combo were only fed Hills Science Diet until that massive recall. Tried Iams & they hated it so I switched to Purina One & GoodLife. Then my boy got a UTI so I thought I was not being a good mom by using cheaper cat food & saw the commercial for Blue Buffalo so off to PetSmart I went.

    My babies HATE this food! First 2-3 days they ate nothing. Then they went so far as to pick out the darker pieces & put them in the middle of my bed to show their displeasure.

    My son’s 2 month old kitten sneaks into my bedroom & LOVES this food while my babies are trying to sneak into my son’s room for the kitten food. Not good for all 3 of them. I honestly don’t know what to feed them anymore.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  39. jane Says:

    I am having the opposite problems of the people posting here. I have fed Blue Buffalo sensitive skin for 18+ months and our cat never looked better. Now, BB has stopped making it. We tried the red bag of Blue Buffalo and he started throwing up all over the place. He wasn’t chewing it, just swallowing it. (whole pieces of food in the vomit. that never happened with the sensitive skin formula) After calling Blue Buffalo directly and waiting for them to call back, they suggested their Basic formula because it is a single protein food. Same thing, he is throwing up the food unless I grind it in a morter and pestel. He has never looked so bad. He has lost 3lbs over the last month and has gone back to chewing and scratching his fur out. I don’t know what I am going to do. If I feed him canned Natural Balance turkey he does not vomit, but he still scratches his fur off. Before we found Blue Buffalo sensitive skin we went thru 4 different brands of food to try and get him to leave his fur alone. This was the only food that worked for him. BUT, on a side note only because I saw someone mention it in the above posts, his teeth are receeding. (so far only 2 on top between his fangs) I do not know his background, he was purchased at a pet store and then thrown out on the street when he became too sick to make it to the litter box. We took him in to be a barn cat until we saw how sick he was and didn’t want the barn cats to get his illness.

    Honestly, I would like to know the reason why Blue Buffalo has changed their formulas.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  40. stacy Says:

    We exclusivly use halo, however, one night we werent able to make it to pet store that sells halo by the time it closed so we purchased Blue Buffalo Spa Select. After a couple days my 8yr old cat began vomiting everywhere. Needless to say, in the past 24hrs we have spent over 1000 dollars on xrays, bloods meds, etc to help him get better. We are very concerned as he has a wide range of health issues which at one point resulted in him needing to be in an O2 tank for 3days. Blue Buffalo cat food did not help our past week (in the beginning of the week our other cat ran out and got hit by a car. She’s going to be fine, but that was an ER vet bill! Then had to buy a new car because one died&our other vehicle is in for major repairs.) I obviously can’t say for sure that it was the cat food, but he has been fine as long as all the other health issues are controlled. There have been no problems for the past few years, then suddenly this. Also, the symptoms he is having are different than his normal health issues when they act up. As a side note, we love Halo Cat Food! Our other cat who has severe gastro issues does great with this food. We use Halo Dry Cat Foodand wet grain free Wellness Cat Food.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  41. Marie Says:

    I am pretty overwhelmed with all of these food choices. I have been feeding my two Siamese cats Blue Buffalo Cat Food for about four months. I switched from Purina One because my younger male cat had been vomiting anytime he had the Purina One. I figured it was a wheat or corn allergy. Now, like many other pet owners, has rejected this food (won’t touch it) and has started losing weight. When he does eat it, he tends to throw it up (large chunks like other users have reported). The ingredients look very healthy, but at $35 a bag I don’t really feel like messing around with this food and cleaning up vomit every day.

    It is more complicated to feed my cats than it is to feed my children!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  42. Nila Says:

    I was recently reunited with my cat of 9 years. When I finally landed a place post-college and a steady paycheck my parents delivered him to me. He was somewhat thinner as he usually is living at their house with 2 other cats so in preparation for his arrival I stocked up on all the good stuff. I slowly switched him and my foster cat of about a year old to Blue Buffalo cat food after asking for recommendations at the store for an all natural cat food. My foster took it fine and eats it but my old cat hesitates to touch it. After 3 bouts of him eating and then puking, I think I need to switch him back to Royal Canin or Lotus. I’m not sure what the deal is but my cat needs to eat, so I’m not taking any chances.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 2.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  43. Rebecca Says:

    Our 2-year-old and our 8-year-old both have problems with the dry Blue Buffalo cat food. We always notice the darker pieces of nutritional pellets that remained undigested in the vomitus, the other pieces digested. I’m wondering if those nutritional pellets cause problems when they are not chewed up.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  44. stabbycat Says:

    I have three cats, two of which require special needs diets. After the female special needs cat had medical problems while on a limited ingredient diet I spent hours researching a food that had no corn, chicken, or by-products, thinking maybe she needed something even more healthy. Blue Basics and another brand were the only two that really worked. My cats love it, I have to say; they go crazy for it and beg for it. However, the instant I switched them the special needs female began having severe diarrhea. She has severe cystitis and IBS that was being controlled through medication and treatment, so I thought this was just something new regarding her illness. I have been to the vet more times than I can count. She’s been on just about every medication and is only getting progressively worse. She has diarrhea 4-6 times per day and is gorging herself on food and water because she’s so malnourished and dehydrated. She’s underweight and losing more weight every day. I am ready to break down because I can’t keep up. I thought there was something severely wrong that was never going to get fixed.

    Then the past two days, the male special needs cat has been having loose stools and is now having diarrhea. He has never had diarrhea in his life. The third cat, who could eat anything and be fine, is also having diarrhea. Again, she has never had diarrhea in her life. I suspected that it might be the cat food. After reading many reviews from others I’m now wondering if the Blue food is causing this. They’ve been on this food for over a month; one cat had immediate severe reactions that has become progressively worse and the other two are now having some disturbing digestive upsets. I can’t imagine that it’s a coincidence since nothing else in their diet has changed. I’m going to have to switch back to their old food. I know they’ll complain, but their health is more important.

    The good thing is they didn’t vomit near as much on Blue Basics as they did on any other food, but I would happily clean up vomit all day if it meant no more diarrhea, malnourishment, and dehydration.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  45. Joe P. Says:

    My 14 year old cat seemed ready to give up her 9th life. Her fur looked bad, she was throwing up alot, constipated, very thin, scabs, etc. I took her to the vet and they said it was a $2000+ thyroid problem. We were broke. She had been eating Purina One with a bit of Fancy Feast. I started looking at all of the junk in the ingredients. I then checked out several other brands of cat food and settled on Blue Buffalo Wilderness. Now, one year later (age 16) she’s doing great! She has beautiful fur, has gained a healthy weight, playful, and goes poo regularly. No vet required. Feed your pets good food. Blue Buffalo cat food worked great for us.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  46. Largo Slade Says:

    I switched to Blue Buffalo Indoor Cat Formula after switching my dog to Blue Buffalo’s dog food. My cats love this food, however, they are particularly finicky eaters. I find the their litter box is indeed less offensive, and I use an extremely high quality clupping litter.

    This food has left our cats healthy and happy. I feed them once per day and both usually finish the food in one eating session. Their fur is soft and shiny. Our female cat was adopted as a rescue cat and her fur was coarse and dull when she first arrived at our home. I can attest, without a doubt, Blue Buffalo has made her coat beautiful. Our male cat was always fed a high quality food, usually Purina One or something similar, so his coat was nice. However, our female cat has shown such an improvement in her coat that I am sold on this food. The changes happened over about a three week period.

    The only down side to this food for us is the cost, however, if this food keeps them out of the vet’s office and healthy, it is worth the price.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  47. Kat G. Says:

    In August I adopted 2 kitties, in addition to the 2 I already have. Someone (not sure which one) was vomiting several times a week. I was feeding Good Life food which my first 2 tolerated well. I briefly gave them Science Diet until I really researched the ingredients in it. I also give them each 1/4 of a 3 oz can of wet food for “breakfast”.

    I decided to try switching them to Blue Buffalo. I had quite a bit of the old food left so I took it very slow, and at first a couple had loose stools but it started to clear up. The vomiting was drastically cut down, however it wasn’t totally gone. I changed their wet food to the Wilderness cans and the vomiting is down to every once a week if that and the litter box, although it smells more until they cover up (that’s from the protien) everyone is going regularly.

    I’m happy with their shiny, soft coats and their energy level. Sometimes they have too much energy, but they are all relatively young so that’s ok too.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  48. JJ Says:

    I am switching my cat over to Blue Buffalo cat food. However, I do want to stress to everyone that dry food of any type has been linked to an increase in urinary tract issues. I add water to my cats food and change their water several times a day. I also tried to feed them wet food. Keep your cats fit with a good waist. Catchannel and CatFancy all have great information and are recognized around the world for not just good, but great, articles on nutrition. I am thinking about switching to an all natural diet or trying homemade recipes.

    Every cat is different. I previously always used Hill’s Science Diet products. My first 2 cats of 6 years with my husband were on “sensitive tummy” and “dental” diet as well. They had great teeth. Not one UTI. I have 3 more rescues now and they seemed better after I started adding water to their food. Purina One has been shinier coats with bigger, stinkier, stools. Hills Diet no smell and small stools at 7/8 of a cup a day of food. Today I bring home a new bag and Bella was biting through the bag to eat it! I do not free feed to avoid over eating and possible constipation. They will receive no more then a 3/4 cup spread over 3 small meals a day, and I will adjust accordingly. I like the duck idea and may try that.

    My cats have a waste and are lean but not skinny. They have a layer a good layer of fat over their ribs. Bella needs a little more then the boys as she is more active. They are all 3 beautiful. If my cats look worse after one bag I will take them off of it. Mickey throws up Purina One and Hill’s Science Diet. He ate everything tonight, his appetite is bad. More hastily eaten we will see what happens. No vomiting either, and no one is meowing to eat right now.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  49. Valerie Cannata Says:

    My two older cats and one kitten all love Blue Buffalo, both the canned and dry. One of my boys has had dry, flaky skin. He always looked like he had a bad case of dandruff. After about a month on Blue Buffalo, no flakes! All three have lovely, silky coats. I hope it treats their insides as well as it does their outsides! It’s worth the high cost if it keeps them healthy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  50. Marie Says:

    After switching my cat to Blue Buffalo dry cat food he started having severe, terrible smelling, watery-brown diarrhea. As a nurse I continued to assess the situation and after not improving over 2 days ended up taking him to the vet when I realized that he had become severely dehydrated. After exams, tests, x-rays, blood work, urinalysis, and everything else it was determined that the Blue Buffalo was the only thing that had changed in his diet or life. He is 5 years old and never been sick a day in his life before I switched to Blue Buffalo. Now we have to re-florinate his bowel (repopulate his intestine with the normal bacteria that live in the bowel) as the diarrhea has wiped out all of his normal intestinal flora. I’ve raised cats all of my 60+ years and I can honestly say that it was the Blue Buffalo dry cat food that caused this. My other two cats did not eat the Blue Buffalo food as they did not like it and they remained healthy and well. From now on I’ll stick with the dry food that I had been using and not fall prey to TV commercials. I would advise everyone to stay as far away from Blue Buffalo as possible if you care about the health of your cat.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)

Leave a Reply