Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food

Wed, Jul 1, 2009

Authority

The Good

First and second ingredients are named meat ingredients

The Bad

Lower quality ingredients

Full Review

Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food

Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food is designed for cats that need specially formulated food in order to achieve proper digestion. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula includes 32% protein and 15% (min) fat.
 

Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food Review

We are going to take a look at the first five ingredients of Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food. The first five ingredients are a good indication of the quality of cat food. The ingredients before the first fat source usually make up the vast majority of the cat food.
 

    Turkey, Turkey Meal, Brewers Rice, Oatmeal, Salmon Meal, Natural Flavor, Beet Pulp, Dried Egg Product, Rice Flour, Animal Fat (Preserved with Mixed Tocopherols), Canola Oil, Vitamins (Vitamin E Supplement, L-Ascorbyl-2 Polyphosphate, Niacin, Vitamin A Supplement, Thiamin Mononitrate, D-Calcium Pantothenate, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Riboflavin, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Folic Acid, Biotin, Vitamin B12 Supplement), Potassium Chloride, Choline Chloride, Minerals (Zinc Sulfate, Ferrous Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Calcium Iodate, Sodium Selenite), Taurine.

    First Five Ingredients Analysis:

    1. Turkey
    2. Turkey Meal
    3. Brewers Rice
    4. Oatmeal
    5. Salmon Meal
    Turkey - unspecified turkey. Not a complete AAFCO description. Turkey Meal - the ground clean combination of flesh and skin with or without accompanying bone, derived from the parts or whole carcasses of turkey or a combination thereof, exclusive of feathers, heads, feet and entrails.

    Brewers Rice - the dried extracted residue of rice resulting from the manufacture of wort (liquid portion of malted grain) or beer and may contain pulverized dried spent hops in an amount not to exceed 3 percent.

    Oatmeal - Oatmeal is Oatmeal...

    Salmon Meal - the clean, dried, ground tissue of un-decomposed whole fish or fish cuttings, either or both, with or without the extraction of part of the oil.

    Crude Protein (min) 32.0%

    Crude Fat (min) 15.0%

    Crude Fiber (max) 4.0%

    Moisture (max) 10.0%

    Ash (max) 7.5%

    Linoleic Acid (min) 2.0%

    Calcium (min) 1.2%

    Phosphorus (min) 1.0%

    Magnesium (max) 0.11%

    Zinc (min) 150 mg/kg

    Vitamin E (min) 300 IU/kg

    Taurine (min) 0.15%

    Omega-6 Fatty Acids* (min) 2.5%

    Omega-3 Fatty Acids* (min) 0.25%

    Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profile.

    Not available online....

Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Are you a consumer of Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food? If so please take the time to rate Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food. This will make it easier for people who are looking to purchase Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +5 (from 7 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 7.7/10 (31 votes cast)

Rating (out of 10)

Overall Ingredients

This score is based on ALL ingredients
3

First Five Ingredients

This score is based on the first five ingredients
3

Protein Content

This score is based on the total meat protein content
3

Grain Content

More Grains = Lower score and No Grains= 10
3

Total

3
8 Responses to “Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food”
  1. MariJo Says:

    I bought this cat food because my cat would throw up at least once a week on her current food and she would never eat much. She’s been eating Authority for about a month now and has yet to throw up, plus she’s eating! I mean she just loves this food. As soon as I fill her dish she comes running. I highly recommed this food. I have yet to find it in a 20 lb bag though.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  2. Melissa Says:

    My 4 year old cat used to struggle with having fresh blood in his stool. We tried checking him for parasites and looking at his large intestines, but nothing seemed to be wrong. Many claimed that he may just have some sort of irritable bowel syndrome. By switching his diet to the Authority Sensitive Solutions, the problem has completely disappeared! Perhaps it was digestive problems or an allergy. I recommend this food! As mentioned in the previous comment, I also have not been able to find it in the 20lb bag.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  3. John Says:

    I was feeding my cats the Authority Hairball formula because I thought that one was having trouble with haiballs and that was the reason for her perisitent vomiting. I recently switched to the sensitive stomach formula and the vomiting has been completely eliminated! I never thought of switching the formula but this really works. Interesting that the ingredients aren’t all that different between the two. This one has sure done the trick. My cats have always loved Authority dry food and there wasn’t much of a fuss when I switched to this formula. It does smell completely different from the other.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. Loki's Mom Says:

    Cats seem to like it, and there’s much less barfage than with other foods. The price is reasonable for a “premium” cat food, and it doesn’t contain the weird stuff P&G is now throwing in their formerly good IAMS brand.

    Only problem is, they’re getting really fat. Time to put them to work I guess.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  5. MomCat Says:

    One of my four cats has a sensitive tummy. All four were on Iams sensitive. I had a coupon for the Authority & decided to try it. I mixed it with the Iams during the transition, and they are now only on the Authority. Virtually no more upset tummy! Love the product. Wish it came in 20# bags, for those of us with a herd of kitties.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
  6. Becky Smith Says:

    Authority Sensitive Solutions Cat Food has helped our cat’s digestive systems tremendously, but why don’t they sell 20# bags? I’m going to start looking for a comparable food in a different brand soon, if they don’t start having the larger bags!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  7. Irene de Villiers Says:

    This is currently one of the best foods available in terms of least toxic ingredients. It has only two problem ingredients, I wonder if the company would like to fix that?
    The worst item is oatmeal as it is very high in saponins. Humans use an enzyme in the liver called Cholesterin to process saponins, but the cat liver lacks cholesterin and saponins are consequently toxic to cats.
    Some cats will show diarrhea, hair loss and skin issues, others will handle the food better visibly, but internally saponins do kidney damage. Lambs have the same saponin problem, and the research is much more extensive in labs and shows how saponins damage nephrons and lead to kidney failure.

    The other bad ingredient is the GMO canola oil which is high in inflammatory omega six, (which will enhance kidney damage – a high cause of death in cats) and which also is GMO, which damages gut lining so badly that for example, in pigs, the intestine of pigs eating GNO corn is too friable to be used for sausage casings.

    By the way, rice as a grain is pH neutral, nontoxic. The “no grain” fad is very bad for cats as it introduces high saponins and other toxins for which cats lack liver enzymes and high pH (predisposing struvite crystals and kidney damage) from fruit, herbs and veg instead of safe rice grain to bind the food, with neutral pH!

    Better would be to add a dash each of cooked pumpkin and rice bran, with extra taurine, to boost gut health where cats make the vitamins and short chain fatty acids they need for organ support, and extract carotene. (Cats need 12 times as much cartotene as dogs.)

    Irene de VIlliers, B.Sc, D.Vet.Hom, feline nutrition specialist at CATWELL.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks
  1. […] Authority Sensitive Solutions Formula Cat Food is designed for cats that need specially formulated food in order to achieve proper digestion. The Guaranteed Analysis of this formula includes 32% protein and 15% (min) fat. […]

Leave a Reply