Artemis Dry Cat Food

Sun, Apr 19, 2009

Artemis

Artemis Dry Cat Food

Artemis brand cat food is made by the Artemis Pet Food Co. Inc., which is based out of North Hollywood, California. Artemis was first established in 1988, and now has a wide variety of pet food formulas available for purchase. Though there was a recent recall against foods with Rice Protein Concentrate ingredients, Artemis has stood by the statement that none of their pet food contains any ingredients involved in pet food recalls.

Artemis Dry Cat Food Reviews

Artemis brand cat food is available in four different dry formulas. These formulas do not contain any certified organic ingredients. All four of these Artemis cat food formulas are available both in a 5lb and 18lb bag. The 18lb bag size may cost from $30-$60, depending on the retailer. By comparison, the 5lb size is usually priced from $12-$22. The four different types of Artemis Cat food are all in the “Fresh Mix” line of products, which also includes several types of dog food. Other cat food products by Artemis Pet food company include a Seafood, Chicken and Turkey canned cat food. All of the Artemis dry cat food formulas do not contain corn, soy or glutens as filler ingredients.

Artemis Dry Cat Food comes in the following formulas:

  1. Artemis Adult Cat Food
  2. - Adult Cat formula manufactured by Artemis can be fed to all adult cats. Two of the first five ingredients are chicken-based. Other ingredients include Brown Rice, Barley, Salmon, Flaxseed, as well as several vegetable ingredients and vitamins.

  3. Artemis Kitten Food
  4. - Artemis brand Kitten food formula is designed for cats that are from weaning age to one year old. The kitten formula contains three chicken-based ingredients in the first five ingredients. Other ingredients include Pearled Barley, Salmon, Flaxseed, Cranberry Powder and several vitamins.

  5. Artemis Senior Cat Food
  6. - Artemis Senior Cat food formula is designed for older cats. Many senior cats have different nutritional needs, and need a special food formula that is easily digestible. The Senior Cat formula contains two Chicken-based ingredients in the first five ingredients. Other ingredients include Pat Fiber, Brown Rice, Potatoes and Oatmeal.

  7. Artemis Maximal Cat Food
  8. - Artemis Maximal Cat formula is a type of cat food that Artemis manufactures to be grain-free. Also, the Maximal cat food formula only derives protein from Chicken-based sources. This may be beneficial when trying to eliminate certain protein sources with a cat which has food allergies. Aside from chicken ingredients, Artemis Maximal Cat food contains ingredients such as potatoes, peas, skim milk and chicory.

Artemis Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Have you ever bought and fed your cat Artemis Cat Food. If so, please take the time and let others know what you thought of Artemis Cat Food. Below is a ranking based on the price, ingredients and availability of Artemis Cat Food.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 7.4/10 (16 votes cast)
Share
6 Responses to “Artemis Dry Cat Food”
  1. artemis mikalef Says:

    Hi there can you tell me where the name of the company originate, is it
    a greek name, as my name is artemis and I am greek could you please let me know I am queerest to find out.

    Thank you Artemis

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Kristi Says:

    My cat loves Artemis. He started with Artemis Kitten Food (dry), now eats Artemis Adult Cat ‘Fresh Mix’ (dry). He is now 1.3 year old and feeling great. I rated the ingredients 8 points because they are not certified organic, but I think the formula is good and healthy.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Jean Says:

    Two (2)yrs.ago after studying pet food ingredients on bags in the pet stores, I started my 17 yr old cat, Myles, on “Artemis Senior”. He had been diabetic, on insulin for 3 yrs., and going for testing every 4 months. When I took him to be tested in March of 2007, three (3) Drs. came into the waiting room to ask,”What are you feeding Myles?” I told them, “Artemis Senior”. They said, “Well,his diabetes is in remission!” Myles’ diabetes has been in remission for 1-1/2 years, he is, now, 18 yrs. old(still goes for regular testing), healthy, and happy. The vets. are amazed!! PS: we adopted Myles, when he was 10 yrs. old, from an elderly woman who had to go into a nursing home. He turned 18 July of 2009. Thank you from the bottom of ouhearts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. CatGenie Reviews Says:

    My 6 month old kitten just switched to Artemis and she seems to be doing a lot better with both her coat and shine- I’ve recommended it to friends and family and I’m glad to hear others like it too!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. mkultra Says:

    I feed my 3 cats wet food and leave dry food out in case they get hungry between meals. I was feeding them wellness but I could tell they werent really into it. They just turned 3.

    I went into a pet store and asked if wellness came in other flavors, and the owner asked if my cats ever threw the undigested food up, which one of them frequently does. She just eats too fast. He said because artemis is a bit bigger it slows down their eating a bit. She hasnt thrown up since, and they LOVE it. I just wish it wasnt so hard to find in my area!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Clay Adams Says:

    I’ve had my cats on Artemis for a few years. It has a larger kibble than many causing the cats to actually bite it to swallow. It is a rounded square with a hollow center. They tend to eat less of Artemis than Vet’s Extension (which has a much smaller Y-shaped kibble and they mostly swallow whole). I’ve had them on a few other brands, but its a nice middle ground between price and quality, though it can be difficult to source sometimes.

    I prefer ingredients that contain things like blueberries and such because there are lots of micronutrients in organic matter that is lacking in simple chemical vitamins. Not too sure about the kelp, but Carrots, Apples, Tomatoes, Spinach and Cranberries are things I want a cat to get occassionally.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 4.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply