Acana Dry Cat Food

Fri, Apr 17, 2009

Acana

Acana Dry Cat Food

Acana is a brand of pet food that is produced by Champion Petfoods. All Acana brand cat food products are produced at the company's facility in Alberta, Canada. Acana brand pet food is sold in 45 countries worldwide. Though the Acana brand cat food has not recently been involved in any of the pet food recalls, Orijen, another pet food brand produced by Champion Petfoods, is undergoing a recall in Australia only. All of Acana's cat food formulas are grain-free, and contain protein ingredients that were not previously frozen.

Acana Dry Cat Food Review

Acana brand dry cat food is available in a 2lb trial size bag, a 5.5lb bag, a 16.5lb bag, and large 30lb bag. Given the different nutritional needs of some cats, Acana cat food is available in three different variations. All three of these Acana cat food formulas have a 65:35:0 rating (which is Meat ingredients : Fruit & Vegetables : Grain), and contain several certified organic ingredients.

Acana Dry Cat Food comes in the follow 3 recipes:

  1. Acana Prairie Feast Cat Food - Acana's Prairie FeastĀ  formula is a chicken-based cat food, which also includes chicken eggs, Whitefish and Northern Walleye fish. Other ingredients include russet potatoes, juniper berries (which are potentially hazardous for pregnant dogs), alfalfa, pumpkin, sea vegetables and several different herbs (such as peppermint, chamomile and red raspberry leaf). The Guaranteed analysis of Acana's Prairie Feast cat food contains 35% protein, 19% fat and 3% fiber.
  2. Acana Pacifica Cat Food - Acana Pacifica cat food formula includes Flounder, Salmon and Herring as the main sources of protein. Some of the other ingredients include pumpkin, turnip greens, apples, bladderwrack, kelp, juniper berries, and several herbs. The Guaranteed Analysis of the Pacifica formula includes 35% protein, 19% fat and 3% fiber.
  3. Acana Grasslands Cat Food - Acana GrasslandsĀ  cat food is a Lamb-based formula, which also includes protein sources such as Lake Whitefish, chicken eggs, and duck meat. Other ingredients include sweet potato, alfalfa, pumpkin, kelp, and several herbs. The Guaranteed Analysis of this cat food formula includes 34% protein, 20% fat, and 3% fiber.

Acana Dry Cat Food Thoughts

Though Acana brand cat foods are not priced as highly as some other ultra-premium cat foods, the grain-free formula seems to work well for consumers and their cats. Since the protein sources in each of the three Acana cat food formulas are clearly listed, this can be very helpful when dealing with a hypoallergenic cat. Also, since all three of these cat food formulas are grain-free, most consumers agree that it is much easier on a cat's sensitive digestive system.

Acana Dry Cat Food Consumer Ratings

Have you ever bought or fed your cat Acana Cat Food? If so please take the time to rank Acana Cat Food on a couple of different aspects. This will help consumers make the right choice when looking for a cat food brand.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +37 (from 65 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Price
Availability
Ingredients
Does your cat like it?
Rating: 8.3/10 (256 votes cast)
Acana Dry Cat Food, 7.3 out of 10 based on 3 ratings
Share
9 Responses to “Acana Dry Cat Food”
  1. noisewter Says:

    Love this cat food. Was previously feeding my cat wellness, under the assumption that it was wheat gluten free. When my cat started getting sick i read the lable properly and noticed that they do infact use wheat gluten in many of their products! Acana is completely grain free, my cat loves it she has never seemed more healthier and her symptoms (vomitting) have been completely eliminated! She has been on this food for 2 years now. Antoher thing that is great for us is that we are in Edmonton Alberta only about 20 mins away from champion petfoods and i have actually been to several of the places where their fish and poultry products come from so its highley environmentaly sustainable for us! Pet planet stores are everywhere here in Edmonton and they carry this food, i also get it from wholesale pet supplies, which has fewer locations but a better price and they offer bigger bags! I will never feed my cat a grain based food again! I will never buy a box store brand again. If you can find this food i highley recomend it!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (2 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +11 (from 11 votes)
  2. Vicky Says:

    I, as well, switched my cat from Wellness to Acana (but because I had moved and could no longer find Wellness). I love this quality cat-food. My cat eats less of it because she needs less of the kibble to satisfy her nutritional needs. My cat has always had no health problems; hopefully, Acana will help keep it that way!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  3. Bruce Says:

    I mix Acana with Core Wellness and Halo cat food. Acana has been one of the cat foods that she consistently eats.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  4. Tom Says:

    I bought Acana Prairie Feast because of the ingredients, price and the smart-looking packaging.

    My cat does not prefer this food to other brands (like Holistic Select or even Cat Chow). I usually have to mix in a cheaper “junk food” kibble to get her to eat.

    It also makes her poo smell BAD. Does anyone else have this experience?

    T

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 4 votes)
  5. Joe Says:

    My 2 kittens had problems with loose stool when I first acquired them at four months of age. I had tried different foods including Science Diet and Natural Balance, but they did not seem to work. After a little research I discovered Acana. I mixed this with a little bit of pumpkin puree, and their stool became normal. I really like the high quality ingredients in the food, especially the protein-based ingredients. I would strongly recommend this food to all cat owners.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +5 (from 5 votes)
  6. Mike Says:

    I just recently started giving my 8 year old cats this food. When I fist adopted my cats I gave them IAMS for the first 2 years, but IAMS is all by-products, so I switched to Pet Promise, but Pet Promise has a lot of grains. Over the last 4 years, they have been mainly eating Wellness, Halo, and now Acana. Seems like Acana is a very good brand, so I figure I’ll be switching between Halo and Acana so my cats don’t get bored, but overall, I think Acana is very good, and my cats love it. I buy Acana cat food from a from a small pet store in Redmond, Washington, and the owner is extremely picky of the brand foods and quality that she carries, so Acana passes her ‘test’, and so far passes my ‘test’.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
  7. Joseph Says:

    I have an 11 month old Maine Coon purebred male and a 7 month old Maine Coon mix female which I adopted 4 months ago from a local shelter here in Leesburg FL. I initially tried feeding them on Core for a month and then alternating all 3 Wilderness formulas on a daily basis for another month before I finally switched to Acana for the last 2 months. The reason I kept switching was because their stool was consistently muddy and they would each throw up a few times a week at a minimum. That is, until I switched to Acana Grasslands. Which by the way was recommended by my local vet who informed me that it can be purchased at a nearby pet store ‘The Green K9′ in Tavares FL. Once they were on Acana for less than a week, I noticed both unfavorable symptoms had stopped completely for each kitty and that each kitty (if you can call them that, they’re already huge), were much more active and looked a lot healthier. After that initial week on Acana Grasslands, I purchased their other 2 brands Pacifica and Wild Prairie which I now alternate on a daily basis. Alternating these 3 Acana formulas was another recommendation that came from my local vet. They love all 3 formulas. Based on the results, I’m now addicted to this dry cat food as much as my 2 kitties, Charcoal (he) and Patches (she).

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)
  8. Henri Labelle Says:

    I also switched to Acana cat food. I have 3 cats, and they all liked it very much. Unfortunately, they don’t have a “light” version for my big cat. I will probably try Chicken Soup For Pet lover’s Soul Light, even if it’s not as good as Acana.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  9. jo Says:

    My cats like this food, especially the Grasslands, not the Pacifica so much. I’ve fed it and Evo to them 2-3 years, and yes for some odd reason although the poo is normally formed it does stink a lot more. I do also feed them some raw and canned food. W hen they are not getting Acana their poo does not stink as much.

    I also feed Acana to my dogs when feeding dry food. Orijen is a bit too rich but all four dogs do well on Acana.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)

Leave a Reply